Best Place to Run In Lapu-Lapu and Why I Love It Here

in Bee a Better You3 years ago

75HARD (1).png

It's great that we can finally go outside and exercise. I have been trying my best to find time to get active. I remember that I was in my best shape when I trained for a marathon back in 2018, so I decided to get back to training again.

Years ago, Cebu City Sports Complex or "Abellana" was the go-to place. At around 5 in the afternoon, people would start flocking the track and it made the training bearable.

Due to the pandemic, and Abellana being an hour away from my new rented place, made it impossible to go there.

Welcome to Hoops Dome Lapu-Lapu

I know you've heard of Lapu-Lapu's Hoops Dome. In the past few months since I started running again, the best training sessions happened here. It is a 15-20-minute travel but I think it's worth it. Most of the people I jog with live nearby. Being the extrovert that I am, I go where the people are. :)

IMG_5401.jpg

Why I Love It Here?
1. Safe

Some prefer road runs but I don't. I don't mind running around in circles for as long as I don't have to worry about being run over by a car. I want to focus and enjoy my training and worry less about dying. lol

There is a police station, a fire station, and an isolation center in the vicinity, so whatever service you need, you will be provided. 😂

2. Decent Tracks

Inconsistent slopes and the "Lubak-lubak" road here in the Philippines can sometimes be very tiring. Hoops dome being a relatively new infrastructure, the tracks outside is great.

3. People

For me, there is a huge difference between running by yourself versus running with people around. Whether they are running with you or just doing their own business, I find comfort in being in the company of people.

Every time I go there, I notice bikers usually assemble there to wait for their fellow bikers to arrive. I also notice kids, teens, and even pregnant women stroll around the compound.

The mere presence of people usually makes me feel motivated. I feel motivated because, for whatever reason why they're there, they woke up early and made a decision to do something for themselves.

IMG_5398.jpg

4. Taho and many more.

A warm cup of taho is perfect after a morning run!
If taho is not you're thing, traditional pinoy "pamainit" or snacks are available like puto't sikwati, bodbod, and many more. There are mini karinderias available around the area.

5. FREE Parking

As far as I know, at least. But come on. Free parking? It doesn't get better than that.
IMG_5399.jpg

6. Eye Candies

Last but not least are these eye candies! 🐕

Doggies.jpg

I'd love to discover new places that are great for runs. Do you have a place in mind? Tara, sabay tayo!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Ga e taho..

Taho is on me. bisag katong Large cup pa. hahah!

Congratulations @jannuslim! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁶ Meetings Contest

Omg! Hoeee. I used to jog here before! I lived near Tamayi when I used to be a working scholar. Worked at SSI. Student pa, Working na, may time pa sa pag jogging! Oh diba. Laban! I realized dili jud ko mabuhi og walay kiat kiat ako life.

hahahah! get ko this. hahaha Kiat gyud ka as a person. haha

I don't mind running around in circles for as long as I don't have to worry about being run over by a car. I want to focus and enjoy my training and worry less about dying. lol

Hahah kalingaw ani. But I totally agree with this. Better safe than sorry plus you get to enjoy what you're doing.

hahaha rightt??? I just wanna live and run for another day. 🤣