Comment commitment: 20,000 by 31 December 2020

in Hive.IO Community4 years ago

August 11st, 2020

Committed

At the end of the year, during the year end re-cap post we will know if I was able to make my goal of 20,000 comments. I at least do not have as many to go for my goal as @galenkp, but since I only average 11.8 comments a day, (I try to get at least ten a day out since Hive began), I will need to increase my efforts to a little more than 18.5 a day. (18.67 if my math was right).

info from hivebuzz today

With 19 weeks of the Engagement League under my belt, I have a good idea of where I was and where I need to be. My total comment count for the nineteen weeks that ended on Sunday was: 1,571.

comment count.png

We have about 21 weeks left to go in the year, I at least get one more day than Galen, since he is already into Monday when I am still living in Sunday.

I do not expect my style of comments to change at all for the challenge, I have somewhat over aggressive fingers when it comes to commenting, although I have been trying to make them a little bit shorter unfortunately not with much success.

My average comment length is 34,052.89. Just one of the many stats that Asher tracks for us in his Curation and Engagement League. That's last Sundays post, if you have never seen or looked at one. I take all the information he provides me and put it into a spreadsheet so I pretty much have it all available.

Since before Hive began I have been wanting to get to the 20,000 mark by the end of this year, and to be a dolphin by the end of the year. With the happenings on steem and the birth of Hive I did make it to Dolphin status early, but comments are going to still need a lot of work.

So there you have it. My commitment. I honestly do not know if I will make it or not, but is that really the point, the real point is to try and up my engagement levels. Five of the nineteen weeks I had missed my target of ten comments a day, four of the weeks I made it in to the 110-120 range of comments. I will have to now try to up it to the 130-140 range of comments for the week.

Realistically I'll be closer to 19,000, but that would still be nice. We just have to wait and see.

Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

Well, yeah. Me too. Committed to 2250 comments from now until year end. And I wanted to make Dolphin by then also, and got the gift of Hive to help that goal become reality.

I'm now hoping to make Double Dolphin by the end of August. The comments I'm going to have to work for...

It's good to be committed to something, isn't it?

I am surprised at how much my HP holdings have grown since hitting the 5000 mark.

It's good to be committed to something, isn't it?

At least it isn't the funny house we are committed to.

I do have to do a lot better than I did on the 6th and 7th though. Those days only saw one comment from me. That where average per day comes in handy, some days make up for the slow days.

Well, the comment will not be that lovely when what the person thinking while doing that comment was to reach his goals. It's good to reach your goal but it must be done with sincerity.

I engaged galen's post yesterday and I was thinking to feel the same. Good luck with your goals and good luck with building new friends in hive.

I seriously doubt that my style of commenting is going to change, other than the number of comments I make. If a person wants to discount my comments because of a self challenge, then they don't understand that I have always had a goal of ten comments a day for a very long time. I am only trying to increase the number of comments a day I make.

I am one of those people that actually look at and read most of the post I vote on, not all of them of course, but most of them. I never comment on a post I don't look at or think about. So far I have managed to avoid auto voting or passing my votes off to others to take care of them for me, I know realistically that will change as my account grows, but I still hope to be able to be out there leaving comments on peoples post.

Yeah, me too, I don't comment if I don't understand the content. Yeah, it will be very obvious that I'm just doing that to make my account grow. I'm not doing it to give appreciation for who someone wrote amazingly.

Sorry for the misunderstanding, yeah there are those people who are being serious of what comment they will do.

No apology needed. I am going to try and up my daily average by 8, so far I've been pretty good at averaging the 10, so it is time I tried to increase. not so much for myself, but for the accounts that I enjoy the content from, if I like it I generally try to leave a comment, I just get lazy sometimes.

Thanks, yeah I think I will do that as well since curators these days ignoring my posts. It's better to enjoy interacting others users posts so I can forget at least the feeling of not earning anything. That's good in diverting my mind instead of desperately wanting people to come in my post.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 18 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
8

That sounds like a great goal! You can do it! 👍

All I need to do is comment 7 more times than I have been doing. So far so good.

Think how much your account will grow! And if you come by and make comments on Shadow Hunters posts you will collect some ARCHON for your efforts!

yes I need to get around a little bit more.

Plus I always love to see a comment from you on my posts! 😉