Bozzlife: Interaction Initiative, Crafting Perfect #hivecomments

in Hive.IO Community4 years ago

One of my very first posts on that other platform that actually gained some decent votes was a guide on how to craft a good comment.

After a couple weeks of pretty crappy rewards, I quickly learned that my content alone was not going to gain the followers I was looking for.

In the days when token prices were much higher, there were thousands of posts being created every hour. It wasn't that my content sucked, it was just the fact that there was so much competition.

To stand out from everyone else you needed to do something different, something special, you actually had to interact with authors and write great comments.

I am a big fan of food, so I like to think of comments in that context.

First, you have the Spam, I actually love Spam, so lets think of those comments as cotton candy instead. Short one liners like "nice post", "great job", "I agree" are fantastic examples of cotton candy comments. They are sweet, but they have pretty much zero substance. Gone too soon and easily forgettable. Let's try to stay away from those kinds of compliments.

I do have an exception to that rule... If you have been following someone for a while and have established a good rapport with them over the course of months if not years, then comments like that could be acceptable. By that time you have an unspoken agreement with the poster that you both appreciate each other.

This one may be a bit controversial, but I see "repeat" comments the same way I see that seven day old take out that has been sitting in the back of your fridge. What do I mean by a repeat comment? It used to be fairly common to see someone just take the key points from your post and type them back in a comment to you.

I don't see it as often, but I am sure it is still out there. The person wrote the post, they don't need to be given a summary of what they just wrote about. I understand it shows them that you read their post, but is it really engaging with them? I vote no.

Finally, let's talk about the good comments. I mean the seven course meal, meat and potatoes comments that really grab the attention of the original poster and build that engagement bridge that leads to a long term follower.

One of the things I really love to do when commenting on someone's post is to ask them a question about the material they just covered. By creating the post they have already established that they are an expert or at least interested in the topic.

Why not pick their brain then? The sky is the limit! It not only shows that you read the post, but it also starts a dialog and in the end you might even learn something additional that wasn't covered in the post.

That's it, it's that simple. I started this post thinking I was going to write out a ten point list of great ways to write a comment, but in the end, it all boils down to being inquisitive.

I don't have children, but I have been around enough to have experienced the "why" phase. As annoying as it can be, that "why" phase is so important to their growth. The world around them is so big and magnificent, they are trying to learn and take in as much of it as they can.

What better time to connect with them, mentor them, and create a lasting bond simply through engagement.

You see where I am going with this right? The same holds true with Hive. Be the kid asking why all the time. Maybe not in exactly that way, but you know what I mean.

I am not saying this will land you a connection 100% of the time, but it will help you develop your craft. Just like writing a post, writing a good comment is also a skill that needs to be honed.

It doesn't happen as much since the last hard fork, but I have generally posted about five times a week and there were some weeks that I make more from comments than I do from my actual posts.

Be well, live well, and comment well my friends!

This post is my entry in the #hivecomments Interaction Initiative by @garybilbao and @eddiespino and promoted by @theycallmedan


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


@eos.detroit Staff Writer/BOID Team Leader

Join our Discord here

Sort:  

You have a real knack for writing good comments. You've offered me a ton of thoughtful suggestions throughout the time we've been interacting. As a writer, it feels great to know people are actually reading what you take the time to write. On the flip side, nothing irks me more than seeing a generic, one sentence comment that appears to be bait for an upvote. A lot of people do themselves a disservice by doing that.

What a great idea to bring this much-needed skill to light!

Thanks, I appreciate your kind words. I agree, the short comments are horrible. At least we don't see as much of the "upvote for upvote" or "follow for follow" stuff that we used to back in the day. It kind of feels like it was the dark ages back then!

Thank God people are more savvy than that now!

Much food for thought here @bozz, thank you for the tips!
It is so good to get a comment where you can see someone has really read the post and not just skimmed it!
I don't know if it's just me but engagement has dropped dramatically the past couple of weeks?

And with this initiative we want to revive it. We are counting on you, @lizelle.

We need to light the fire again and not let it die!

Yes, it definitely has. :(

Thanks for this. I've been struggling trying to figure out how to get traction here, and I like your approach. I wasn't doing much commenting because it seems no one ever upvotes a comment. But I see you attracting attention and followers is just as important. So I guess this would be a good time to ask a question, huh. lol. So in addition to this advice, what are some other good ways are there to get more attention on Hive?

Make sure you are taking advantage of the communities. It will be easy to gain followers if you are targeting like minded individuals. My blog is kind of all over the place so it is hard for me to find a single community to post in. Also, if you don't have Discord I would get an account. I have made many connections via some of the servers on there.

Thanks! That is good advice. I haven't quite got involved with Discord, but I will get it a shot.

Be well, live well, and comment well my friends!

I loved this at the end. That thing you wrote is what I always repeat: you can have quality content, but if you don't get noticed, you won't achieve much. It's all about relating to each other and the comments are a great strategy. But sincere, honest and valuable comments. You gave very good tips, @bozz. Thanks for such a great post.
Be curious, be inquisitive, promote interaction. Speak the experience, and listen carefully.
We are pleased that you have joined this initiative.
A big hug.

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)


Por aquí pasó | El Comentador |

@garybilbao

Thank you! I think it was a really awesome initiative.

I just comment whenever.

Spam (the edible kind) is actually underrated.

It totally is. I used to eat it quite a bit when I was a kid. I haven't had it in a while now, but I remember how tasty it was.

It takes the application of many techniques to achieve growth in Hive. I have been learning on the go @bozz but what you say is true. Interacting is the main key. I have seen the efforts that @bozz makes and there are many people who only publish. When these people are part of your environment you feel that they don't care what you do. We have a world ahead of us to discover.