DeFi Campus Writing Contest #1 - What is DeFi and how is it different from traditional finance?

in DeFi Campus4 years ago (edited)

Update: Contest is now closed and not accepting any new entries. Further updates will be provided shortly.

I am pleased to announce DeFi Campus inaugural writing contest in collaboration and sponsored by the Project HOPE and HODL communities! Without further ado, let me jump into the details.

DeFi Campus Writing Contest #1


Contest Topic

Write a post of at least 350 words with the following topic,

What is DeFi and how is it different from traditional finance?

A few ideas to get you started,

  • Read some of the older posts in DeFi Campus.
  • Head over to DeFi Prime, take a look a few projects and understand what problems they are trying to solve.
  • Share some of your DeFi experience if any.

Entry Submission Date and Rules

Your entry must:

  • Be submitted between 20th June 2020, 11AM and 24th June 2020, 11AM (Singapore Time, UTC+8);
  • Contain the #defi-campus-contest and #defi tag;
  • Be posted to either DeFi Campus OR Project HOPE OR HODL community;
  • Be at least 350 words (only content body will be counted);
  • Be reasonably original (no plagiarism).

You can leave a comment here with your entry to help us find your post.


Judges and Judging Criteria

@vlemon and myself (@culgin) will be the judges for this contest. We will be judging based on the following criteria:

  • Originality
  • Fluency
  • Ability to grasp/convey the idea of DeFi
  • Bonus: Active participation by commenting and supporting (rehive & voting for) other entries

Prizes and Rewards

Liquid HIVE rewards:

  • 1st place = 15 HIVE
  • 2nd place = 10 HIVE
  • 3rd place = 5 HIVE

In addition, top 3 entries will also receive full upvotes from Project HOPE and HODL with a total worth of approximately $5 - $10 (which should translate to about 10 - 20 HIVE of author rewards)!

Participation rewards:

  • First 30 entries that are submitted (chronologically) will be rewarded with 1 HIVE each
  • If there are less than 30 entries in total, Hivers who re-hive this contest post will get a chance to win 1 HIVE through a random lucky draw.

Yes, everyone get a chance to win HIVE


Leave a comment to this announcement post if you have any further questions. Thanks and I look forward to your participation 😁


This article is created on the Hive blockchain, an immutable and censorship-resistant content platform.
5% of post rewards goes to @peakd to support this amazing project and the remaining goes to @defi.campus to support the community.

Sort:  

Resteemed already @culgin.

Hopefully we can attract more users to participate. It surely isn't easy topic and finding right audience can be challenging.

Yours, Piotr

Indeed. DeFi remains to be a rather niche topic, so I am not surprised that there are not many participants. I will roll the prizes to the next contest if there are not enough entries 😛

Hello @culgin, this is where I leave my contest entry. It was good to investigate, I knew some things about DeFi, but without a doubt there is a lot to know. Thanks to @vlemon and you for the opportunity.

https://hive.blog/hive-175254/@josevas217/what-is-decentralised-finance-defi-and-how-is-it-different-from-traditional-finance

Thanks for your entry! Will be reading it shortly

Here is my entry. Few hours late. I only found out about it last evening and had something to do this morning.

https://hive.blog/hive-175254/@machnbirdsparo/what-are-we-really-talking-about-in-defi

BTW, Hive would not let me use more than one dash.
image.png

though I was able to use two dashes in Peakd

Thanks for the entry! I didn't know you cannot have more than 1 dash on hive.blog. I will take note of that 🙂

You are still early by the way.

Nice contest. This contest is the first post that I tried to cross-post in Dolphin Assemble. Interestingly, I have just read about Defi before I slept yesterday. I have heard about this word but didn't really go and understand it. I understand it as a blockchain bank that is not controlled by any country or government to provide better incentive for us internationally.

Thanks! I think you got the gist of it. Perhaps you can write an entry for this contest 😀

Supporting your community first contest with my amateur understanding of DeFi. Below is my entry.

https://peakd.com/hive-126009/@fun2learn/what-is-defi

Thanks for your entry!

Thanks for the entry! Will be reading it shortly

Wow. Welcome @deficampus. Glad to have a new community on board

Hi there, thanks! If you are interested to take part in the contest, there is still some time left 😉

I just posted my entry. I'm interested in all you're doing

interesting variety of services, I am struck by those focused on analysis and trading, also The options to earn interest look very interesting. It is a great proposal and a complex subject to write about, I regret not having found out before, because the time I have left to write something decent is very short.It seems to me a great contest and I wish you a lot of success with your platform.

Don't worry about that. Stay tuned for future contests!

Nice initiative, I will be joining up soon

Thanks, looking forward to your entry

Fully Upvoted and Resteemed 😄

Thanks!

Amazing initiative @culgin

Resteemed already. Upvote on the way :)

Thanks!

Congratulations @culgin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 3000 replies. Your next target is to reach 3250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Supported. Love the idea of designing a visible gamification system to pair with our blogging.

Thanks @machnbirdsparo! Your support is highly appreciated! 🙏❤️
If you want to support us even more vote for our witness.

This post is shared on Twitter as part of #posh,