My Career Story: QC Weekly Contest 78

in QC Community2 months ago

It's always fulfilling for one be in a career that aligns with their interests, skills, values, or area of study.
Choosing or starting off in a career isn't just what happens in a jiffy, there's work to be done. And this requires figuring out what you're passionate about or good at and then researching on the careers that fall into that category of choice. After that you'll need to build up your experience through things like internships, apprenticeships, volunteering or a job. The final part should be to network and make connections with people in your chosen field.



Starting off my career in one of the popular radio stations in my town as a marketing executive was something I would call sheer luck because I wasn't really expecting to be get it not after my first application was rejected. So when I heard about their opening for job offers over the radio, my interest wasn't piqued but my younger brother called asking me to go apply to which I promised to but didn't. My best friend whom I was sharing an apartment with then also asked me to apply since the job was my field of study, marketing. I then decided to give it a try and after few weeks was invited for an interview with others. The interview went well but still I wasn't expecting anything. Fate had another plan for me because a month after I got another invite to the station and this time it was just I and three other persons and we were to meet with the Human Resources Manager. Sitting at the conference room with him, he congratulated us while handing an appointment letter to each of us adding that we are free to go study it and come back two days after for training, that's if we accept the offer. When I got home and told my friend how it went noting that the pay wasn't what I was expecting, she said;

Don't look at the pay for now but at the job security, the exposure, connections and experiences you are going to get in the course of this job. Accept it, you won't regret.

I gave her words a deep thought and decided to give it a shot and of a truth I haven't had any regrets so far.



Radio marketing job can be fast-paced, challenging and demanding, but also very rewarding.
To succeed one has to be proficient in media planning, copywriting, audience research, and data analysis. You also need to be able to work effectively with a team, manage multiple advert campaigns, and meet deadlines.



Talking about the adventures, I would say that I've had quite a handful, lol, which are absolutely wonderful.
Since my job is all about marketing, I'm always out there in the field visiting companies, corporate bodies, private and government establishments, schools, churches, markets etc. I also attend trade fairs, workshops, seminars, concerts getting contacts and selling my station's brand name.

On duty


At a political campaign ground

The main job lies in prospecting and getting them to convert so I have to make them understand the benefits of advertisement and what they stand to gain from advertising their business, products and services using our airwaves. Sometimes it's a win, other times, it's a loss. Not everyone will do business with you.


Listening to other radio stations especially their programs and advert belts so I can get contacts to prospect is another fun part of the job.


Is it the racking of brain inorder to develop creative concepts for production of jingles, including creating of ad copy, media plans, and executing marketing campaigns that aren't adventurous, hehehe. Being able to showcase my professional skills in these areas and delivering to the client's satisfaction is always fulfilling.


One exciting thing about my job is being able to work with a variety of departments within the station such as programmes, news, production, accounts, traffic, IT and engineering. This provides valuable experience in team collaboration and communication.


It doesn't just end with working with other departments within my station, it also extends to other sister stations. I build connections with other stations because there are times clients request that you handle the advert campaign in other stations of choice too. This only happens when you've gained their trust and proven that you know your onions well.


The main adventure lies when you are invited as a resource person in a seminar, conference or training. I remember when one of my clients who owns a natural medicine company invited me to speak during the marketing team training. I basically shared my experiences with them and left them with this word

If as a marketer working in any establishment and no one can refer or call you by it's brand name, you haven't started in your marketing job. You need to do more. You are representing the company and people should be able to identify you by it.


There are many more I would have loved to share but let me end it here.
Many thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts.



Still the #threadsaddict 😂

Images Are Mine

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @luchyl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 250 posts.
Your next target is to reach 300 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

It's funny how sometimes the things we least believe that can change something end up being the best decisions for our futures. It so nice to read that you had so many adventures in your career and that you learned so much in your job.

Certainly, this has happened to me a lot of times and I've learnt to always follow my instincts. I appreciate your contribution.
!BBH

@queercoin! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @luchyl. (1/20)

Wow wow wow, this was absolutely mind blowing. Your face show o and your shoe shine.

You are one of those few who have hit it when it comes to career. Your skills are amazing. I can't imagine the number of brain cells that you burn off just to create different jingles for different companies. You are amazing sis and you are an inspiration.

Cheers to girl power!
Cheers to advancement!

Your face show o and your shoe shine

I just hope these will make my account to breathe, lol.

You are one of those few who have hit it when it comes to career. Your skills are amazing.

I'm still in the learning process, though and I'm grateful to God for how far he's brought me.

. You are amazing sis and you are an inspiration.

I lack words to express how your beautiful and kind words make me feel but just know that I'm thankful.
!HUG

Dear @beckyroyal, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @luchyl.
(1/3)

You are very welcome sis

You have said well. And truly, it is nice you listened to your friend and took the offer to work with them.

Hello dearest fashionable dreemer. Happy new day! Wednesday is here with its beauty for an angel like you. Let the beauty rule your day and never forget to smile to make it more beautiful. You have the power to make your day! I waltzed in from #dreemport, for I am an amazing #dreemer. An awesomely made #dreemerforlife.

Yeah, it was. Thank you

Oh dear..that's a lot in your line of job. You must be bagging lots of experience and connection already..that's lovely. This job offers u the opportunity to explore different places and keep connecting with people
If only I have marketing skills, haha 😂
You are doing well
#dreemerforlife

Everyone has a little bit of marketing skills in them, at least convincing Oga to drop money takes a lot of skills, hehehe.

I appreciate your wonderful contribution.

Reading this, I can only say that you are absolutely amazing! Writing copies for adverts and all the planning for jingles, girl ... that is not a child's play.

And to think that you didn't even want to take up the job in the first place.

Wishing you great success in your chosen career.

A #dreemerforlife from #dreemport

Well you know it's usually some of things we don't really want that turns out to be the best for us.
I appreciate your contribution greatly and thanks for the kind words.
!BBH

@ngwinndave! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @luchyl. (2/20)