Do you think traveling makes you more tolerant? (ENG/ESP)

The Basilica of St. Francis of Paola - Napones, Italy

In my beginnings in Hive when I posted my first post of presentation I had the great fortune that one of the administrators of this community made me a comment in my presentation and among them invited me to know the community and that I would be invited to write when I consider it, Well, while I was learning some things about how to publish and manage this network I was always thinking about wanting to contribute because I clearly identify myself with this community, but I couldn't find an idea to introduce myself here and as I have specialized in travels, until today I had the idea to write some lines about what I am passionate about and what I have learned.

En mis inicios en Hive cuando colgué mi primer post de presentación tuve la gran fortuna de que uno de los administradores de esta comunidad me realizara un comentario en mi presentación y entre ellos me invitaba a conocer la comunidad y que estaría invitado a escribir cuando lo considera, pues mientras iba aprendiendo algunas cosas a como publicar y manejarme esta red siempre rondaba en mi cabeza el querer aportar ya que claramente me identifico con esta comunidad, pero no encontraba con que idea presentarme por acá y como me he especializado en viajes pues hasta hoy se me vino la idea de plasmar algunas líneas de lo que me apasiona con lo que soy y lo que he aprendido.

HuescaZaragozaPamplona

Many of my friends and acquaintances ask me why I like to travel to different destinations in the country where I am and I usually answer with the same sentence "Traveling allows me to be more tolerant and see many things from another point of view" And this is one of the best lessons that every human being should have and above all put into practice in any situation and it is nothing more than "Tolerance".

Muchas de mis amistades y conocidos me preguntan qué porque me gusta viajar por diferentes destinos del país en que me encuentro y generalmente le suelo responder con la misma oración “Viajar me permite ser más tolerante y ver muchas cosas de otro punto de vista” Y es esto es uno de los mejores aprendizajes que todo ser humano debe tener y sobre todo poner en práctica ante cualquier situación y no es más que “La Tolerancia”.

CaracasLimaMerida

If there is something I have been able to learn in my various travels through different towns, cities and countries is to accept and above all to get involved with their customs and to accept that there are differences from one place to another with respect to the way I was raised. So without being wrong I can say that traveling has allowed me to realize that the world is not a uniform place if not everything is completely different from what we know, every place, every region, every piece of land is as diverse as nature itself and it is here where sometimes the lack of tolerance with ourselves or towards others does not let us assume that there are other cultures, other religions, other lifestyles and especially another way of loving or simply different ways of perceiving our environment, our life and our happiness.

Si algo he podido aprender en mis diversos recorridos viajando por diferentes pueblos, ciudades y países es aceptar y sobre todo involucrarme con sus costumbres y aceptar que existen diferencias de un lugar u otro con respecto a la manera en que fui criado. Pue sin equivocarme puedo decir que viajar me ha permitido darme cuenta que el mundo no es un lugar uniforme si no es todo completamente diferente a lo que conocemos, cada sitio, cada región, cada pedazo de tierra es tan diverso como la misma naturaleza y es acá donde a veces la fata de tolerancia con nosotros mismos o hacia otros no nos deja asumir que existen otras culturas otras religiones otros estilos de vida y sobre todo otra manera de amar o sencillamente formas distintas de percibir nuestro entorno, nuestra vida y nuestra felicidad.

MedellinMaiquetiaParis

And one of the things that I would like to capture my particular experience of how I have seen the issue of tolerance for LGBTIQ+ people when it comes to tourism in different countries and cultures. Beginning these first experiences I start with the country where I am from Venezuela, among many anecdotes I could summarize that in one of my first trips with my partner at that time another guy of contemporary age to mine, at the time of going to Margarita Island in a first adventure together I had booked a deluxe room with an extra large bed to have that experience of a honeymoon as any heterosexual couple could have had, When I arrived at the reception the staff told me that possibly I had made a mistake at the time of booking because I had chosen a room with one bed and I did not choose two as it should happen and I commented that perfectly my reservation was made with those conditions to what they started me that by policies of the facilities they had to give me one with two beds and that they did not charge me any additional cost and nothing for things of innocence and that I did not have even that capacity of defense to such a situation I agreed, However this type of situations happened to me again and again in different cities, Caracas, Valencia, Barquisimeto and well I could detail the entire map of my country.

Y una de las cosas que me gustaría plasmar mi experiencia particular de como he visto el tema de la tolerancia para personas LGBTIQ+ a la hora de hacer turismo por diferentes países y culturas. Comenzando estas primeras experiencias comienzo por el país del cual soy Venezuela, entre muchas anécdotas pues podría resumir que en uno de mis primeros viajes con mi pareja en ese entonces otro chico de edad contemporánea a la mía, al momento de ir a la Isla de Margarita en una primera aventura juntos había reservado una habitación de lujo con una cama extra grande para tener esa vivencia de una luna de miel como cualquier pareja heterosexual podría a ver tenido, al llegar a la recepción el personal me comentaba que posiblemente había hecho algún error a la hora de reservar porque había escogido una habitación con una cama y no escogí dos como debía de ocurrir y le comente que perfectamente mi reserva estaba realizada con esas condiciones a lo que me comenzaron que por políticas de las instalaciones me tenían que dar una con dos camas y que no me cargaban u coste adicional y nada por cosas de inocencia y que no tenia aun esa capacidad de defensa a tal situación accedí, no obstante este tipo de situaciones me ocurrieron una y otra vez en diversas ciudades, Caracas, Valencia, Barquisimeto y bueno podría detallar el mapa entero de mi país.

Lima Gay Pride 2020

On the other hand then we traveled to the city of Bogota in Colombia and the panorama was similar, however the tolerance with respect to this was a little more open, in this opportunity there were no objections to have our matrimonial room, however the face of astonishment or that they looked at us as strange people could not hide it, In our first trip out of the country in this place we observed that in spite of the topic of homosexuality was also a taboo there was perhaps a little more tolerance with respect to the hotel business, places of leisure for people of the community where they could be more comfortable to have a drink and without feeling fear or shame for having some gesture of affection in public as any human being would have the right. And here I thought that I had to get out of my comfort zone to realize that outside my borders there were other places where I could be more comfortable in my homosexual condition and feel a little more freedom.

En cambio luego viajamos a la Ciudad de Bogotá en Colombia y el panorama era similar sin embargo la tolerancia con respecto a esto era un poco más abierta, en esta oportunidad no habían objeciones para tener nuestra habitación matrimonial sin embargo la cara de asombro o que nos miraban como gente rara no la podían ocultar, en nuestra primera salida del país en este lugar observamos que a pesar de el tema de la homosexualidad también era un tabú había quizás un poco mas de tolerancia con respecto a la hostelería, sitios de ocio para personas de la comunidad donde pudiesen estar más cómodos para tomas una copa y sin sentir temor o vergüenza por tener algún gesto de cariño en publico como cualquier ser humano tendría el derecho. Y acá pensaba que tenia que salir un poco de mi zona de confort para darme cuenta de que fuera de mis fronteras había otro tipo de lugares donde podía estar más cómodo en mi condición de homosexual y sentir un poco más de libertad.

BarcelonaCamfranTudela

Very similar and pleasant cases then I could experience in Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Punta Cana, where not only we already respected the room we wanted but in those countries I knew other types of places that in the first two countries did not have even that visibility, bars for a drink, very large nightclubs, some places for a more daring leisure, such as saunas, or video places, dark rooms, clandestine places to put into practice different sensations of sexuality among many other things, where yes they were still taboo but people had a totally different mentality and were willing to exploit this niche that had and still has the need to find spaces where they can be free and without prejudice.

Casos muy similares y placenteros luego pude experimentar en Argentina, Uruguay , Chile, Punta Cana , en donde no solo ya nos respetaban la habitación que queríamos si no que en dichos países conocía otros tipos de lugares que en los dos primeros países no tenia aun esa visibilidad, bares para una copa, discotecas muy grandes , algunos locales para un ocio mas atrevido, como saunas, o sitios de video , Cuartos Oscuros, sitios clandestinos para poner en práctica diferentes sensaciones de la sexualidad entre muchas otras cosas, donde sí que seguían siendo tabú pero las personas tenían una mentalidad totalmente diferente y estaba dispuestas a explotar este nicho que tenía y que aún tiene la necesidad de encontrar espacios donde puedan ser libres y sin prejuicios.

ChileArgentinaUruguay

One of the most beautiful things that has happened to me in one of my trips is being in Buenos Aires walking along the bridge of the woman I dared to hold hands with my partner at that time and walk holding hands, when in less than 10 minutes I hear a couple behind us saying the girl to her husband, look how cute they look, they look like newlyweds these guys. To hear such a gratifying gesture of affection touched me so much and at the same time I was surprised not to hear some phrase of intolerance or bad taste.

Una de las cosas mas hermosas que me ha podido pasar en uno de mis viajes es estando en Buenos Aires caminando por el puente de la mujer me he atrevido a tomar de la mano a mi pareja de ese entonces y caminar agarrados de la mano, cuando en menos de 10 min escucho a una pareja detrás de nosotros diciéndole la chica a su esposo, mira que tiernos se ven, parecen recién casados estos chicos. A ver el escuchar tan gratificante gesto de cariño me conmovió tanto y a la vez me sorprendió de no a ver escuchado algina frase de intolerancia o de mal gusto.

IMG-20220815-WA0032.jpgIMG-20220815-WA0031.jpg

With this I thought that although in some places they may not have information about this type of situations and that they may be normal, they may generate a rejection of the unknown out of fear and may harm the welfare of people who simply want to establish activities as any couple of a lifetime, so as I was exploring the world I was noticing that I was appreciating totally different situations.

Con esto me planteaba que a pesar de que en algunos sitios no tengan quizás a una información de este tipo de situaciones y que pueden ser normales, hagan que por miedo se genere un rechazo a lo desconocido y pueda perjudicar el bienestar de personas que simplemente quieren establecer actividades como cualquier pareja de toda la vida, por ello a medida que iba explorando el mundo me iba percatando de que iba apreciando situaciones totalmente diferentes.

Valencia - Spain

Something totally opposite has happened to me since I moved to Spain, although I am very restless I have known a number of cities that although my main goal is to take pictures, visit parks, see sunsets, go to the sea or mountain, among other things, if or if I take a few hours of the day or night to visit sites dedicated or simply made for the LGBTIQ+ population and I can say that the mentality of people on this side of the world is very different from the experience that I can have in America , Here I have easily been able to be in a bar watching a show of some artist who makes representations of some famous singer and have next to straight couples singing and applauding who performs that great work, to straight men who entered the site by mistake and stayed to have a drink and involved with the environment as if it were totally normal. What should be, only that I put it in context with what would happen in Latin America and is that ultimately travel is the best option to eliminate these social prejudices and open the mentality, discover and enjoy the new and not be bothered by the different.

Cosa totalmente opuesta me ha tocado percibir desde que me mude a España, si bien soy muy inquieto he conocido una cantidad de ciudades que a pesar de que mi objetivo principal es tomar fotos, conocer parques, ver atardeceres , ir al mar o montaña, entre otras cosas, si o si me tomo unas horas del día o de la noche para conocer sitios dedicados o simplemente hechos para la población LGBTIQ+ y puedo decir que la mentalidad de las personas en este lado del mundo es muy diferente a la experiencia que pueda tener en América , acá fácilmente he podido estar en un bar viendo algún Show de alguna artista que hace representaciones de alguna cantante famosa y tener al lado parejas heterosexuales cantando y aplaudiendo a quien realiza ese grandioso trabajo, a hombres heterosexuales que entraron por error al sitio y se quedaron a tomar una copa e involucrados con el entorno como si fuera totalmente normal. Que debería ser, solo que lo coloco en contexto con lo que ocurriría en Latinoamérica y es que en definitiva viajar es la mejor opción para que se eliminen estos prejuicios sociales y abrir la mentalidad, descubrir y disfrutar lo nuevo y no dejarse incomodar por lo diferente.

IMG_20190629_153534723.jpgIMG_20220815_010813.jpg

These simple experiences throughout my travels have taught me that tolerance is something that is learned as we give ourselves the opportunity to accept and appreciate our surroundings and thus live, even if only for a moment, the reality of what is different from us. So if taking a trip makes us much more tolerant and leaves us with better lessons and experiences, I ask you, what are you waiting for then to take your next trip? I hope to see you in one of my next publications that will surely take you to a destination unknown to you. See you next time.

Estas sencillas y vivencias y experiencias a lo largos de mis viajes me han enseñado que la tolerancia es algo que se va aprendiendo a medida que nos damos la oportunidad de aceptar y de apreciar a nuestro entorno y así viviremos, aunque sea por un momento la realidad de lo que es distinto a nosotros. Entonces si hacer un viaje nos hace mucho más tolerantes y nos deja mejores enseñanzas y experiencias, te pregunto ¿Qué esperas entonces para realizar un próximo viaje? Te espero en una de mis próximas publicaciones que seguramente te llevare a un destino desconocido para ti. Hasta la próxima.


Gracias por tu visita y te invito a visitarme en mis redes sociales.

Thank you for your visit and I invite you to visit me on my social networks.

insta.png | twit.png

Free Icons from: Iconfinder
Todas las fotografías utilizadas en este Post son de mi autoría.
Diferentes cámaras utilizadas

All the photographs used in this Post are my authorship.
Various cameras used.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @recarvajalp ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @recarvajalp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 12
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-11 - Winners List
Be ready for the last Hive Power Up Month of the year!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Me ha encantado leer tu post y todas tus experiencias ♥️ Es verdad, el viajar y el exponernos a cosas nuevas nos vuelve más tolerantes.

Creo que la diferencia que existe entre Europa y América, es que ahí la gente ha sido expuesta a la comunidad LGBTIQ+ por más tiempo, y creo que por eso es importante la visibilidad de nuestra comunidad.

Gracias por postear en nuestra comunidad ♥️

-SV

Gracias a ti por leerme y la invitación en su momento . Tenia muchas ganas de aportar en esta comunidad y dar más información o experiencias a todos lo que aquí suelen estar . Espero poder servir de apoyo en cualquier idea que se les ocurra . Un gran saludo

Gracias fam de seguro te tendremos en cuenta y si tienes algún tipo de sugerencia nos lo dices con confianza 😉