My Role model

in QC Community7 months ago

The idea about role models had been fumbled up especially with this generation where people confuse having an idol with having a role model. They don't care what their idol does, whether moral or immoral, they just want to be like him, most especially in the area of wealth and not in character or in intellect. I once had a role model and all I wanted to learn from this man was his courage, I knew that was the area I was lacking. I read a few things about him and how he became so bold and try to practice that daily.

Photo Source

I didn't have a father or mother to guide me while I was growing up(my both parents are still alive, but they were separated during my childhood). So, I grew up with my grandma and didn't have all the parental upbringing I needed to help me stay bold. I grew up timid, and that affected me a lot. I could see the visible difference between me and children who had their parents raised them, and one thing I desired was to be confident in myself and when i learned of Nelson Mandela, a south African man who stood firm in opposition, I desired to be like him and I made him my role model, as I engaged myself in learning more about him.

Reading his story didn't help me as much as I desiree but the idea that I could be bold in situations helped me to some extent. I wasn't concerned about his style of hair, nor his style of dressing, no, what i needed was one personality about him that I liked and that was a place to start for me. It's interesting to know that my confidence has improved gradually over the years and it was for this singular reason I considered Mandela to be my role model.

Sort:  

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @shemzy.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Glad you drew your motivation from somewhere and grew up to be bold and cool.

Yeah, sometimes we need that energy from someone change.
Thank you for your comment

That's true.
You are welcome dear

It's so nice to hear that you could find some inspiration from him ❤️

Yeah. 💕