Square One Television Taught Me Math

in THE 1990s4 years ago

In the early 90's, I would watch this show on PBS around like 04:30 PM weekdays. Square One Television aired on TV from January of 1987 to November of 1992.

Reruns

After that, reruns ran until October 1994. I was born in 1985 and was quite young when I watched this show. I probably watched this show off and on during the early 1990's, probably dozens of episodes. But I probably didn't always watch entire episodes.

Square One Screenshot at 2020-03-01 23:56:22.png

Square One Television

Power Rangers

Ironically, in 1993, I started watching Power Rangers as that show took off and it too was on like 04:30 PM, like the same time for a while I believe. But I was learning math on Square One. Well, maybe not a lot of math but it still helped. I really loved the Mathnet segments which was a parody of Dragnet. They did have one particular episode which was like a murder mystery where they were like stuck at a big mansion. It was like Clue, I think, well unless if I'm thinking of some other show.

Anton Spivack

Square One TV—101

Math Magic

In another segment, there was like a guy who would do magic tricks with math and stuff. And I clearly remember him telling you to do a big math problem. He would tell us what to do. In the end, he somehow showed us how the formula he gave us revealed like our age or the year we were born in. That blew my mind away as a boy.

What would blow you away?

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

I remember the Pac-Man parody.

Screenshot at 2020-03-02 01:32:29.png

 4 years ago  

My name is Monday says the detective. I especially remember the music.

 4 years ago  

The other guy is George.

 4 years ago  

I guess Monday is also Kate.