A Rainy Adventure on Kilimanjaro: Hiking to the Majestic Waterfall

in CCH5 months ago

In the early hours of December 14th, I found myself in a hostel, on the foot of the Kilimanjaro, with a plan to embark on a challenging yet exhilarating hike from the hostel to the majestic Kilimanjaro Waterfall. Little did I know that this journey would be filled with unexpected twists and turns, making it a memorable adventure worth sharing.

The Decision to Downsize

The morning seemed promising as we set off, but the unpredictable Kilimanjaro weather prompted me to leave my bulky 6L Sling Backpack behind. Opting for my ultralight 20L foldable backpack, I made a wise choice by including my rain poncho—a decision that would prove invaluable later. As for footwear, I trusted my "Xero Genesis" barefoot shoes, blissfully unaware of the challenges they would pose.

Ascending Kilimanjaro

Around 9 a.m., our little group eagerly hit the trail, starting with a pleasant downhill stretch that soon transitioned into a challenging uphill climb of 10 km towards the gate. Despite the uncertainty of the trail, the weather remained beautiful, allowing me to immerse myself in the stunning surroundings, capturing the moments with my camera and GoPro.

Overcoming Doubts

Reflecting on the skepticism I faced a year earlier when planning this trip, I realized how far I had come. The naysayers claimed hiking was impossible, I would need to take a taxi to the gate and a guide, yet here I was, a year too late for my hike, taking each step closer to the waterfall, reveling in the beauty that surrounded me.

A Downpour at the Gate

As we approached the last few kilometers, the skies opened up, and rain began to pour like it was the end of the world. Donning my earlier-debated poncho, I felt a sense of relief and happiness to wear it from now on to protect myself and my backpack from the rain. Seeking shelter at the gate, we waited for the rain to subside before resuming our journey into the rainforest.

Into the Rainforest

Before we hit the trail, we quickly used the last toilet at the gate. Then we started to hike through the last town on Kilimanjaro, after this town there is only rainforest and nature. A few minutes later the rain got strong again and we searched for shelter in a small store on the road. Exiting the town after 20 minutes, we entered the lush rainforest, navigating a muddy and slippery trail. The path became narrow along the hillsides, challenging our balance. At one point, not far from town, I was slipping and falling, the joy of the journey overshadowed any inconveniences.

Encounter with the Waterfall

Trudging through the rain-soaked trail, we finally reached a river, following its course to the grand waterfall. The sight of the majestic cascade erased the memory of the muddy trail, providing a spectacular backdrop for moments captured in photographs.

Barefoot Adventures

The return journey mirrored the initial muddy trail, now exacerbated by the rain. My Xero Shoes, initially reliable, became a hindrance as mud slipped inside, leading to a slippery situation. I had to stop once, take off my shoes, and wash them. It did make the situation a lot better, but not for long and I was facing the same problem with mud in my shoes again. Choosing to embrace the adventure, I decided to hike barefoot through Kilimanjaro's rainforest, a decision that brought unexpected comfort.

Conclusion

Arriving back in town, I washed off the mud, reflecting on the day's challenges and triumphs. Then we took a Taxi from the gate back to the Hostel. The hike to Kilimanjaro Waterfall was a unique and fulfilling experience—a day filled with rain, mud, and unexpected turns, culminating in a sense of accomplishment. While unconventional, this adventure was on my bucket list, and I relished every moment of it. After all, isn't travel about embracing the unexpected and finding joy in the journey?

Kilimanjaro was named in every German school book, in the 1910’s, as the highest mountain in the empire.

Me on Nostr

npub1kt92nvl0xra26cz7tmhd3k3v3ltmfj5890kdc3qq9860h84tp76swuf0p0

Sort:  

Wave Media

This place looks quite nice... waterfalls are always our favorite place.

Yes, it is very nice.

Congratulations @rubenstorm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 600 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

It's the Christmas season: give your friends a gift

Thank you!

You're welcome @rubenstorm. Looking forward to you reaching your new target 😅