Rapa'i traditional musical instrument from Aceh

in CCH2 years ago


62866770-F719-4146-935A-ADD5D65A7DCE.jpeg

Rapa'i is a traditional Acehnese musical instrument which is played by beating it with bare hands.

F5A0194E-C6A9-49B3-A01A-056B304256A4.jpeg

Rapa'i is made of wood and animal skins from cows and goats.

Rapa'i forms such as tambourines, and various types ranging from Rapa'i Pasee (played by hanging), Rapa'i daboh, Rapa'i Geurimpeng (Rapa'i Kinds), Rapa'i and Rapa'i Anak.

Rapa'i is guided by a leader called the syech. a syech guides by playing a musical pattern with a certain tone and is followed by 8 to 12 players.

OK, here are some photos that I took during the Rapa'i festival in Aceh.

9B52ACED-CD9C-4E1D-8EDC-4E281165AEEA.jpeg

4872F866-160D-4583-89E4-D667D4038524.jpeg

ECA71953-A005-4E23-8B9F-0F97987C9F22.jpeg

I hope you enjoy it and I really hope you can visit Aceh to enjoy how exciting the implementation of Rapa'i Pasee is.

Thank you all for your attention, best regard

Sort:  

What an interesting article, @teukurezaichwan! I love music and it's good to know a little about Rapa'i festival in Aceh. Apart from the tambourines, can Rapa'i be made into drums?

A musical instrument with up to 12 players will definitely produce melodious sounds. I enjoyed reading your post. Thanks for sharing a bit of your Acehnese culture with us. 🙂

thank you for your attention, rapa'i is different from the drum, because it takes a little strength to produce its sound. yes it is very unique when they 12 players combine so that the rhythm is balanced. I hope you can enjoy it directly maybe it will be more exciting

Hello! I am @kemmyb and I've chosen this post for curation in Hive Cross Culture's curation project.
• You will receive a percentage of the rewards from our curation post.
• And this post would be featured in our next weekly digest article.

Hive Cross culture is a community for conversation about culture. This can be national, local, community, or personal culture, subculture or your ideas about culture, language posts etc. We also invite and support bilingual posts, and are searching for ways to support and grow the local communities on Hive. Come join us in our discord chat if you are interested!

Cool content. I feel like I'm nostalgic,If I was there my heart would be pounding very fast. And I started to get afraid when I saw some of the people who hit the horns were injured. Until I want to go home. It's funny to remember now.