I am the creator of Piggericks. Ask me Anything!

in AskMe4 years ago (edited)

AMA.png

Hi, I am the creator of Piggericks.com, a game running on Hive that lets you throw pigs for fun.

I was asked to do an ama by @hiveqa, so it here comes:

Ask me anything!

Sort:  

Are you a one man team or are there others?

I used to okay a game with pigs you would throw. Was that what inspires this game?

There are two main investors paying all the bills, including me and then we have a team of different people with different skill sets working on things.

We have several developers, designers and folks that help with marketing.

I hope we can grow the team if we get good traction.

I was probably inspired by the game you played. I played it with a family and kids while on vacation and got hooked on how to play it well. Then thought this could be made even better and when I went home I wrote the concept and looked for people to built it with.

I will earn GRUNT when playing and buying in the shop. It is similar to DEC.
But will I be able to trade GRUNT at Hive-market?

If my pig is very good (with a lot of experince) will I only play against other pigs in this level? (Also same fuction as Splinterland)

When I play this pig game with my son at my table - it is ONLY luck. But your game has also strategy - or? Is it only luck or most strategy?

  1. WIll the pigs go down in fighting-spirit if I play a lot. Like in splinterland the DEC-rate go down when I play to much one day.
  1. Grunts: Grunts are currently managed by our smart contract and your grunts are held in an address that the app controls. The token your earn are recorded on the HIVE blockchain. The function to cash them out from the app to your ETH address will be built in the next major version. So currently the tokens are not transferable but will be soon. We will also look into building bridges to Hive-Engine so that it can be traded on ETH and Hive markets.

  2. Levels. Yes. You will play against pigs of the same level. Levels are determined by experience and every time you win your experience increases, so pig move up in levels over time if they win. A level 1 pig will only play vs a level 1, but there are quite different strengths within a level.

  3. Luck vs Skill: Well I personally believe a game is either luck or skill. Investing in the stock market is skill, even though can get very lucky or unlucky. Piggericks to me is clearly a skill game since you make decision on what to do after the pigs fall. If you play well you should win more often. But there is lots of variance and bad decisions will win some times.

  4. The amount of grunts you win will not go down. It was important to me to design it in a way that you can play it all day if you wanted.

Good to see you finally made it here! Thanks for posting.

My question: Do you find it easy to develop a game on the Hive blockchain?

So hive has some amazing advantages. I love Hive, I love that is is a blockchain that is usable.

I can't use ethereum or bitcoin other than to send money as a user, but with Hive there is a community and a way to use the thing.

As a result there are many advantages to reach out to users and interact with people.

Additionally there are free transactions. I don't know how something like splinterlands or piggericks could work without some additional layer well.

All of that is amazing.

What I miss very dearly is the ability to have smart contracts. This prevents me from building a decentralized app. Everything on hive must be centralized because there is no way to manage funds in a decentralized way.

This is a factor I hate from a development perspective.

This is why we have started to built some building blocks on Hive and on Ethereum, with something in the middle that I hope to replace more and more with decentralized system as we grow the app.

So the part of piggericks that will own stuff, is in a smart contract on ethereum, the operation of the game is on Hive.

Does this make sense?

Is this your first game on a blockchain I'm assuming?

Also, welcome to the AMA community 😀

Yes the first game for sure. I have built other dapps on blockchains before.

I have some other ideas if this works out well. I think blockchains provide additional layers of amazeballness for users that I hope we will realize and learn and build from here.

Thanks for the reply! I wish you the best of luck and continue building here!

Awesome project.
I love the crosschain idea.
A clear rehive.