Sort:  

hey have noticed people posting about the game in the hive gaming community which we curate. didn't really have a question but welcome to hive and gave this post a resteem for some extra visibility! Nice to see people doing AMAs here.

Thank you very much!

Thank you very much!

I have some questions 😃

1 - What was the motivation behind creating Rising Star?

2 - Why did Atom Collector Records start becoming more of a crypto based platform/network after 2018 (ish) as opposed to just keeping it how it was pre-crypto? (I guess it's more about what the appeal was to introduce cryptocurrencies to the site)

3 - How do you see cryptocurrencies integrating in to the musician and music fans way of life between now and say, the next 5 years or so?

Hi Nicky my old friend! Hope you are safe and well.

  1. As you know I love to code and I love music so after I had being playing dCity, Holy Bread, Drug Wars and a few other games for a while the idea bubbled up in my head. I had no idea how to develop on blockchain so dove in and looked for help. It was actually really hard to find people to help and that surprised me but eventually someone responded and I paid for the basic code to be created and then I modified it from there. @gerber (the dCity creator) was a massive help too and I wouldn't have been able to move forward without his constant support.

  2. Atom Collector Records was starting to experience that drop off you get after the initial launch period and one of the members introduced me to crypto. I then discovered Musicoin and dsound. As well as trying to get more fans musicians need money just like everyone and I was curious to see if we could do a bit of both.

  3. Due to the "crypto winter" things have progressed at a snails pace in terms of music & crypto but we have now had the Bitcoin halving and all things being equal we are about to go into the next bull cycle. Trying to predict one year ahead in crypto is impossible let alone five but I think we will see a lot of crypto music services appear in the next year or two. However they will all have the same problem that even new non-crypto music platforms have - how do you attract listeners who are not just other musicians with an ulterior motive to listen? That is the holy grail and no one has cracked it yet!

Hey mate! Yeah it's been a while but all safe and well here, hope you are too over there!

1 - I'm surprised it was hard to find people to help but guess it is quite a niche subject to develop something on HIVE - great to hear that @gerber was there for you to support - he's a good egg (does he still have Boss Baby as his profile picture in Discord? GREAT programme!)

2 & 3 - I honestly think that HIVE is best set up at the moment to be a direct replacement for a musician's Facebook page in its current form. It has pretty much replaced my one and if you have a WordPress site, there's a HIVE payment plugin you can get from @roomservice that works a treat - a few folks on HIVE have downloaded my music using HIVE that I've actually given them over time through upvotes courtesy of them commenting on my posts - it's a powerful thing for musicians and music fans.

If there was a HIVE equivalent of streaming music app with active development (not really sure dsound is still active with only a couple of updates in 14 months), then it could be incredible.

how do you attract listeners who are not just other musicians with an ulterior motive to listen?

Quite! There will always be bad eggs but I think with HIVE, it's possible with the Hivewatchers team who are vastly experienced to squash them out and nullify post rewards at least. But really, from my recent poll results (admittedly from around 180 people so not the whole world!), Spotify is by far the popular choice so to me, it makes sense that if music discovery on Spotify can be matched with listener experience whilst having rewards for artist and listener with some social interaction then it's a winner.

It's a real shame that Inmusik and Choon also fell apart because they were "looking into" this model, or at least, their whitepaper was (I wrote 3 blogs on it) but it's back to the drawing board!

Can Emanate fill the gap? Not sure... still in alpha build but things are developing at least but has to be built with the listener in mind as well. Keeping my eyes on it but I'm sticking with HIVE as have had the most success with it on a personal level and I really don't see the developers closing up shop unless there's something I don't know (which is still a LOT)!

Thanks for replying anyway, great to hear from you and may get around to playing Rising Star at some point soon (July maybe when things have quietened down)!

Yeah @gerber still has the same pic :P

Now I know how to interact with the Hive chain there is no limit other than time to what can be achieved. Rising Star is already a fully fledged streaming platform albeit a centralised one.
So my focus is to keeping developing the game and growing the user base and then we can see if a Hive music streaming service can be born out of that.

I am still using Steempress for publishing as they have switched to Hive too. Is the @roomservice one better?

Cheers!

Haha, great to hear!

Interesting to hear of the developments regarding the Rising Star and Hive streaming combination. How does the in-game streaming side of things work? Do musicians send their tracks over to you or is it done through the ACR site?

The plug-in from @roomservice integrates with WooCommerce, which is another plugin that you use if you have a store on your site where people can buy your merch. What this plugin does is also give an option to buy things with HIVE or HBD or any Hive engine token now. Have a look at his post about it here

To be added to the streaming radio you just need to sign up to the game and play a little so your account is set up to receive tips when we add the feature. Then you submit mp3s via our Discord.

Thanks for the info on Roomservice!

Can you elaborate a bit on in-game economy plan of Rising Star?

I'm not one to have a detailed plan as my experience is that nothing ever goes as you expect anyway so it's more a case of implementing features and waiting to see how it pans out then tweak it.

For example I recently added the "Ego Meter" to help balance out the game and this wasn't planned at all.

I decided to develop the game with the community which is why it is currently in "alpha". It's much more fun to get feedback and ideas from the people playing the game and then implement the best ones! So many features and cards within the game would not even have happened without the community getting involved in our Discord server.

Rising Star is pretty fun, and I enjoy seeing it develop

Just one question

Why .asp??

Simple answer - because I'm old! :P
I stopped programming decades ago when I moved into a more managerial role and then running my own business. I have never had the time to learn a more modern language. I know asp so well that it is the reason I can add new features to the game so quickly.

Thanks for coming over to the AMA community! So what inspired you to create this game?

Please see answer one to @nickyhavey's questions. Thanks!

Excellent! Thanks, for the answer there 😀

Good to see you over here @atomcollector. Where do you feel Hive will be in 5 years?

Five years is so long! I hadn't even heard of Bitcoin five years ago!
If the onboarding process becomes easier I think it will do amazingly well during the bull market but it's still such a hard slog to get non-crypto people to sign up. Everyone I recommend it to gets so confused about the keys. If we crack that then the sky's the limit!

Oh wow yes 5 years does tend to be fairly long so true. I agree w/ regards to onboarding we have a lot of smart people working on it.

I can't wait until there is a simple front end for onboarding. It will open the flood gates!

I agree! 😀

Hey Juxt,

Do you have plans to further develop Atom Collector Records? perhaps more integration with HIVE? or perhaps more uses for the ATOM token? or are you moving away from that platform to focus on Rising Star?

Currently my focus is on Rising Star because I actually believe it has more potential for musicians to get new fans than ACR. The in game radio is getting a lot of good feedback. I will be adding a tipping feature too so gamers can tip their favourite artists.

As it is a fully fledged streaming service I could also include it in ACR however like Soundcloud ACR is mainly inhabited by other musicians so it is difficult to know how to improve it.

I am putting a lot of in-game cards on the market for ATOM too so that is another use that should keep the price up.

I have a question! Can we incorporate the GROW token into the game somehow? Hive built token!

Let's talk! Send me a DM on Discord and we can discuss it for sure. https://discord.gg/dbB6Jc7

If you buy a pizza box, for example, then find pizza and eat it later do you lose the box too?

No, the pizza box is emptied and ready to store the next slice.

Oh that's great! Thank you for answering my question.

Interesting question lol

Congratulations @risingstargame! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!