Yellowstone: A great show you won't find on Netflix

While I use Netflix as my primary source of video entertainment, the streaming industry has expanded to the point that if there is a new show out there, there is a really good chance that it isn't even on Netflix. I think this is for a number of reasons mainly being that Netflix seems to sponsor or even directly create almost anything that comes along and a great deal of this product ends up being garbage.

Other, smaller streaming platforms like Paramount seem to work a bit harder on making sure any series they produce is top-notch and Yellowstone is a prime example of this.


image.png
src

You could probably say that I am a bit biased because I really enjoy just about anything that Kevin Costner is in and yes, I include Waterworld in that mix. He is the main character in this show and the leader of a family that operates kind of like a mob but far away from New York City, Los Angeles, Chicago, or other places that one might assume organized crime thrives.

The thing that makes this show unique other than the fact that it isn't just a carbon copy of any other "gangster" series that has been made is the absolutely stunning scenery.


image.png
src

Filmed in Montana and Utah, this series has been said by many critics to be worth watching for the scenery alone and I agree. However, I also find the story to be extremely engaging because not only does the Dutton Family (of which Kevin Costner is the leader) have rivalries with Native American tribes on nearby Indian reservations and also with aspiring land developers, they also have internal issues related to family and the members of their cattle-rustling / henchmen that work on the ranch.


image.png
src

I don't want to spoil much about the show because I think it is best if you get out there and figure it out for yourself. The episodes are nearly an hour, which is typical with this sort of show and it currently has 4 seasons. As far as I know they don't have any intention of stopping just yet and for me, that, so far, is a good thing. I haven't yet watched season 4 so I can't be entirely sure about this though. I would imagine that there are only so many scenarios that they can possibly get into so I hope they can manage to walk away from it rather than drag it on once the main story has been exhausted.

I don't think that many people are going to sign up for Paramount Plus just to see this show. I know that I didn't. I just torrent it and it is easy enough to find doing that. If you have some sort of ethical problem with this you can blame the streaming industry: They are the ones that took us away from the scam of cable, inspired joy with the introduction of streaming services, and then slowly but surely returned to the scam of cable by having 30 different streaming services that you have to pay individually for. Basically we are back where we started and torrents are going to be something that people start using again.

I'll save that rant for another day though.

Should I watch it?

Of all the non-animated drama-series that I have watched in the past 12 months, this show is in my top 5. If you enjoy great scenery, and intriguing and innovative story involving multiple aspects of real-world greed mixed in with a bit of some gangster shit, then this series will be something you will enjoy.


photodune-6774981-recommended-grunge-red-stamp-xs-643x272.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @netflixr! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 250 posts.
Your next target is to reach 300 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Totally agree and watch this on cyberflix/cinema which has everything available. I had wondered where Kevin Costner had disappeared to until I found Yellowstone.

he's one of my favorite actors in the past 20 years and I like that he didn't diminish his status by just starring in "whatever" the way that a lot of other people like DeNiro and Cage have done over the years.