The Tough Thing About A Tough Thing

in The CTP Swarmlast year

tough.png

We did a thing about a week ago...

It was called CTPX. It's been something we've been wanting to do for years and believe that the 'content discovery' brand is something that can really help online businesses and of course, members of the blockchain.

You see, putting something out there on the market is easy.

Yeah, there's a lot of development, lots of planning, lots of creative juices flowing...But at the end of the day, when you launch something, that's the easiest part of the journey.

Telling someone...It's live, is exciting. There's hype, there's people talking about the project, it gets the community bubbling...

But then comes the tough part of a program launch.

I wanted to share with you a little conversation Blain and I were having in our Discord tonight. It was about how to continue to push CTPX to the masses and grow our platform...

Which is, the toughest part about building a program, brand or platform online!

IMG_4990.jpg

This has literally been one of our 'marketing plans' for as long as I can remember....Stay in front of people, stay the course!

It's not really sexy.

In fact, some would say it's a foolish approach to online marketing, because we should be split testing, spending thousands on Facebook ads, paying for blogs to review CTPX...You know, what all the marketing experts will tell you.

For us, it's always being about being visible. Doing things, always building.

IMG_4989.jpg

I've spoken about this book a lot over the years. It's one of my all time favorites. The big message behind this book is simple...Stay in front of people so that you are top of mind! Here's thing about this strategy though, it's a long tail approach to building businesses.

It's not about hype, it's not about the latest greatest fad, it's about staying the course and always being seen anytime your potential customers turn on their computer or phone.

You see, this is the exact same strategy I use here on the blockchain.

Every day. Show up.

Am I the best writer on Hive? My goodness no, I'm a high school drop out and most of my writing is at a grade 5 level.

I'm not the youngest either. Not one of the cool kids. Just a dude who lives in the middle of nowhere Canada...That shows up, each and every day.

You hear @taskmaster4450 and speak about this all the time on our podcasts, and I always love his approach to getting better results on the blockchain...I'm paraphrasing but it goes something like this...

"Want better results, go write 500 comments and let me know how it's going then..."

Is the number 500 significant? I don't think so.

Is the commenting on chain that big a deal? Maybe.

The 'trick' if there is one here is...You are being visible! You are being seen by your peers for more than a week or two. This is what it takes because here's the kicker....Most of your competition won't make that effort.

No matter if you are trying to build a brand online. Build your followers on social media or the blockchain. Or even trying to start a 'content discovery revolution', the key is always to be top of mind!

Be seen, as much as you can, as often as you can, every where you can...


hiveswap.png

Sort:  

Totally agree, the internet and attention spans are only becoming faster and shorter and thus as soon as you stop commenting or doing the thing you quickly start to fall off the radar and replaced by someone else. You really have to just keep showing up and doing the thing you love and that's why doing what you love is critical to the success as it just becomes a part of your life.

It's so not the sexy answer either. People want the big red easy button instead of putting in the work. Takes effort to be in front of people, whether on chain or off...But we love it though lol Wouldn't change it for the world!!

!CTP

Out of sight, out of mind........ it is the truth, indeed .

Man being a social animal needs to master in social skills in order to achieve the social benefits.

Appearing consistently is certainly crucial in order to remain on the top of minds

Oh for sure, I mean we are exposed to so many marketing messages, if we think we can show up once a month and get results, it just won't happen.

!CTP

True.

And thanks for providing the inspiration to write everyday.

The point that you said that you are a high school drop and write at a grade 5 level...... made me smile...... but actually it is quite inspiring.

Have a blessed day

We're the brand, hive gives everyone equal Opportunities to showcase themselves. As for 500 comments, that seems really iconic, but it's not impossible, the more the numbers, the more we get ourselves out there.

Yeah I always thought the numbers Task spoke about was more of a message to get out there and be seen...Heck it might end up being 5000 comments before you get traction lol Who knows.

!CTP

I've been racking up at least 14 to 17 comments per day cumulatively for 5 years now. Hahaha

Legend!

I need to do more, I slack sometimes...Need to practice what I preach lol

I always have a hard time taking time off from the blockchain on the weekends or when I go on vacation. I always feel like I need to be in front of my readers or I am going to lose them. It honestly hasn't happened yet, but that fear is always there!

lol I know I can keep up with Ecency but I still hate not being on chain on my computer. Something is always missing for me unless I'm on my box lol

!CTP

I agree!

Remember back 20 years ago when Tiger Woods was in his prime? One of the things that stayed with me most about him was the advice given to him by his father.

It went something like this: When playing competitive golf, he didn't need to be at the top of the leaderboad during the early rounds; he just needed to "hang around" close to the scores of the best players until he had his chance to pounce. He almost always did...

And that's exactly what I see you and Task doing every single day. I learn so much from your podcasts and posts, because like Tiger; you guys "hang around." Thanks for everything that you do for the Hive community, and Godspeed on your new venture!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's a great way to approach it...Just keep showing up, and eventually your time to shine will show up. You never know when that perfect time is, so keep..Taking swings.

!CTP

It's arguably even tougher for the new members right now! But... that's the name of the game. In my short time here, I've already gotten familiar with some of the big players on the chain. And the reason for that? They're out there. Yourself included, Jongolson.

It's a tough job, especially when there are other things going on in life, including another full-time (or double full-time!) job. Yet, the long-term vision must remain. The name must remain out in the open, and new ideas building all the time.

This is my goal with my own project on Hive, as well. I'm glad that, if nothing else ultimately comes out of it, Hive has opened up some creative juices of mine that have been closed for a while. This is an irreplaceable and priceless gift.


If you’ve enjoyed the content of this comment, the compliment, are feeling down and need a shoulder to lean on, would like to make someone’s day a bit better, or found an interesting post you’d like to share that you believe deserves a compliment, please join the FreeCompliments community. We welcome everyone with open arms. :)

lol oh wow, I'm hardly a big player. jut way too stubborn to stop now, I put my life into this stuff, so it's ride or die lol

!CTP

That's what's making you a big player now! You can talk the talk and walk the walk.

Just try to stop being active on hive for a couple of weeks and you have like to start again from scratch :-). I totally agree, the worst idea would be to rely on these marketing techniques only. In a way it's easier to "buy" traffic and users but it's much more sustainable to stay in front of people and lead by example...

Absolutely.

So easy to say, but hard to do and if you take off your foot off the gas...Oh boy, sucks trying to get your momentum back!

!CTP

It takes time to build and nothing really comes easily. Everyone needs to put in the work to get to where they want things to be. If you just sit around and do nothing, then nothing will change. Making those 500 comments were the best thing I did when I ran across task's post about it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You put it into action for sure, very few did like you have. It's been awesome to watch.

!CTP

This was interesting to read as a newbie. At least as many comments as possible in a day, that’s something to take home today.

Thank you

For sure. Always try to push yourself...If you do 5 a day, try for 6 or 7...Always increase :)

!CTP

Great 👍🏿

I'm more likely to curate daily than post daily unless there is a challenge like #HiveBloPoMo or my own #NaPodPoMo type of event. The fact is I enjoy reading and curating other's content. Sharing a comment here and there in addition to the upvote.

A few comments a day, keep the doctors away!

Or at least I heard something like that somewhere.....

!CTP

I think even 5 comments a day would do. You would kind of create relations and also expand by consuming some new content. I don't think 500 cut-throat desperate number to be followed. It's more of a benchmark sort of the approach. It's kind of like creating the visibility in the neighborhood.

Yup, absolutely.

When I first joined the blockchain, I came up with this thing I called the 5-500-5000 formula...

5 comments a day

turns into...

500 followers

which helps you get to...

5000 Hive Power

!CTP

Success doesn't usually come overnight, it takes time. If there is a plan and there is tenacity, the results end up coming.

Yup, never stop pushing forever!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jongolson ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

!PGM
!PIZZA

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS tokens to @torran

remaining commands 1

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@torran(9/10) tipped @jongolson (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!