You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Does Hive Need In 2023?

in The CTP Swarmlast year

Hey @jongolson thanks for the article!

First off, I completely agree... onboarding and mobile apps are crucial for Hive's growth. Ecency is a solid start, but we need more options to make it easy for newbies to join the party.

That being said, I don't think those things alone will attract the masses to Hive. To really build momentum on this platform, we need to focus on what influencers need and where Hive can stand out. I wrote an article about this here: https://peakd.com/hive-167922/@zwhammer/the-secret-to-growing-the-hive-blockchain-influencers-here-s-how-hive-can-attract-them

TL;DR - we need to create tools that allow influencers to gate their content. Once we have those tools, Hive offers very interesting ways to monetize it through community tokens, NFTs, and crypto/fiat payments. This way, Hive can compete more directly with platforms like Patreon and Skillshare, and influencers will bring their audience to the platform. Over time, this creates a virtuous cycle that attracts more audience and influencers. Just my thoughts, let me know what you guys think. 🤔💡🚀

Sort:  

Yeah I mean we have tipping potential on Peakd right now. And something we are working on with Veews is a way for older content to be rewarded as well. I think those solutions will come for sure!

!CTP

To me, it's only partially about the monetization itself in terms of being able to accept payment - it's more about having easy ways to say "This is specifically for my people" And being able to set how that's defined/redeemed - it could be active subscriptions, NFT ownership, staked tokens, etc...

The public/open nature of Hive right now makes it hard to truly gate content - I think we need some sort of encryption to help with that (I'm no dev, so I don't know how that's achieved)

Honestly, some of what I heard on the recent episode of cryptomaniancs (Common - just change it to Hivemaniacs already ;) from @starkerz might be exactly what I'm describing, or at least the foundations for it.

If influencers can bring their community to Hive as a swap for Patreon, there's a ton of benefits - we're just missing a few features that prevent that from making sense.

yup this is exactly where we are heading. as far as i know, the only problem with paywalls, is that it limits the places the content can be stored, so its less decentralised. however, if we can get this to a place where you need a creator NFT attached to your account in order to view content, even if that content is stored in multiple places off chain, that would be incredible.

I love this idea so much. :)

I think I heard with IPFS and Filecoin at least, people could be storing pieces of files they aren't specifically aware they're storing (meaning the specific file) - I wonder if something like this could be leveraged in the SPK network way?

Members of a community can store community assets even if they don't have access to them to view yet... may even be a way to earn access to view etc...

certainly something to be looked into