Comfortable hoarfrost

in Photography2 years ago

What do we all associate with hoarfrost? Of course, with frost! Moreover, with quite strong frost, that way for minus twenty-five! But this frost was comfortable...

For me personally, comfortable frosts pass at temperatures down to -18°C.

It is not for nothing that in schools and even in the army, this temperature value is considered a control point, that below it is no longer possible to engage in physical education in the open air.

It turns out that at temperatures below -20°C, an unprepared person with intense breathing can catch a cold in the respiratory tract. Which is what happened to me a little over a week ago.

And this frost was formed at temperatures around -10°C, that I was even able to walk with the child and ride him on a snow scooter.

I could only capture all this beauty on my smartphone, because I was sick at that time.

In the past, I have occasionally cropped photos deliberately in a 4:3 aspect ratio.

4:3 is digital point-and-shoot cameras, smartphones, as well as medium and large film formats.

At that time I dreamed of shooting in medium format, and that's why I cropped like this, imitating the elite.

So that no one would know that it was filmed with a smartphone, I could frame all the shots in 3:2, but there is a catch.

When I shoot, I involuntarily fit the entire plot, the entire composition into the already existing frames.

And if after that you cut off the top and bottom (so it will be if you make 3:2 from 4:3), then the whole composition will go to hell.

So I didn't crop anything. And what should I hide?

I would like this hoarfrost to repeat itself!

It turns out that this is a very rare occurrence.

I saw hoarfrost only once last winter.

I hope that this number of times will be more than one...

Sort:  

Lot of snow and cold.

Reminds me of Sweden.

Nice photos.

Is it in Russia?

Yes, it is Russia

Cool :) and which city or town?

Vologda - regional center of North-West of Russia

For me personally, comfortable frosts pass at temperatures down to -18°C.

For me, there is no such thing as a comfortable frost. My hands are in pain in and under -7 °C, even in gloves. And the temperature often go below -20 °C in my country (in Hungary) in the winter. The record cold is currently -35.50 °C, and this was on 2021.02.13. I am still looking for wool gloves in my area, but I have not found any. At least not that I could afford. But a 100% wool glove would probably greatly help in the cold.

Merry Christmas.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Frost is felt differently in different regions. For example, next to the sea -20 will feel like -50 in Siberia.