Forgotten verticals. Film selection

in Photography2 years ago

Leafing through my old film photo albums, I was bewildered: 40% of all photos were taken vertically! How did I manage to lose the skill of seeing vertical compositions over the years?

I really wanted to get out of the far corner of the cabinet a dusty box with old photo equipment, take out a film Canon camera from there, buy a 2CR5 battery for it in a store on the corner of Chekhov-Zosimovskaya Streets and shoot vertically!

For a long time I have not connected to a lamp-film frequency...

I remember how before I had to think ten times, weigh everything and only then press the release button.

And now, from just one evening walk, I bring from three hundred to five hundred pictures, of which two-thirds are duplicates.

I don't even know which would be better: the financial ability to buy ten spools at a time, develop and print without restrictions, or one film for a couple of months, but every frame in it is thought out?

Perhaps this discipline played a positive role.

But if I went back in time, I would spend all my money on ~~ bitcoins ~~ photography.

In reality, not everything is so bad - I still sometimes shoot vertically on a smartphone.

Or on the topic of any photo report.

But for myself (for some reason) I gave the installation that only 3:2 and only horizontal!

I even combined all the vertical series (in case you suddenly did not pay attention) in pairs to make it look horizontally.

And I also once stitched vertical panoramas (which, by the way, I also stopped doing), but this is a completely separate topic, which, probably, there is no point in touching on.

And so today I will go for the coveted battery for a film camera.

And future verticals will definitely be film!

Sort:  

Great shots and well... my shots are like 97% vertical and I kind of have to force myself to go think out of the box and do horizontal ones, which usually I don't like in the end 😀 There is certain magic in vertical shots for sure!