Just some kangaroos and things...

in Photography3 years ago

kangaroo header kaelci peakd blog hiveblog hive.jpg

I've never really had the opportunity to photograph kangaroos -- they're usually more often to be found at dawn and dusk, or leaping across the road causing car accidents whenever they please.

We didn't have much time today, unfortunately. But, before we came across the kangaroos, we decided to go for a short trip to a little place called Boonooroo just for some fresh air and whatnot.

kaelci peakd hive blog boonooroo queensland3.jpg

For a change, I thought I'd bring my camera with me. I'm always forgetting the thing. "Forgetting." To be honest, I don't really want to use it anymore until I (eventually) get a new body for my kit. The D5000 just doesn't cut it anymore and the sensors inside go a bit whacky. I literally have to take the same photo three times for it to come through. The first one is overexposed, the second dark as hell, and the third is as it should be.

Such issues are not conducive to capturing constantly-moving animals.

kaelci peakd hive blog boonooroo queensland.jpg

The issues are fine enough for stationary objects though, at least. Just annoying.

kaelci peakd hive blog boonooroo queensland2.jpg

It was high-tide when we went to Boonooroo. Next time we go and I have my camera with me, I think we'll wait a couple of extra hours for the tide to recede just a little bit. I was hoping to capture some crabs and things, but alas, bad timing.

After an hour or so it was time to head home. When... what should catch our eye but kangaroos lazing around in a park near some houses.

kaelci peakd hive blog boonooroo queensland kangaroo3.jpg

Although a common sight at kangaroo feeding and petting farms, these particular ones are wild and were keeping a very watchful eye on us.

Not fancying the idea of being mauled and kicked and violated by these beasts, we stayed by the car a good distance away and allowed my telephoto lens to do the rest.

kaelci peakd hive blog boonooroo queensland kangaroo2.jpg

kaelci peakd hive blog boonooroo queensland kangaroo.jpg

kaelci peakd hive blog boonooroo queensland kangaroo5.jpg

I had to edit them a fair bit as they were all lazing in the shade on this very hot day and, well, they'd be impossible to see otherwise.

Here's an unedited photo:

darkitydark.jpg

Although these particular ones soon ignored our presence and continued lazing about instead of standing and glaring, as we were leaving and driving on the long stretch of road back home three of the beasts hopped across the road and tried to kill us.

Menaces.

Tasty, delicious menaces.

No, seriously. Kangaroo is delicious, red, lean, full of protein and no fat. And cooked like you would a normal beef steak is just to die for. So tender, melt-in-your-mouth... I want some now. 😋

 

Until next time,


Thanks for stopping by! 😊🦘

 


 

All photos in this post were taken by me, @kaelci using a Nikon D5000 and 55-200mm lens.

Sort:  

I always think of Kangaroo as the equivalent of White Tail Deer for us. They exist to look cute, taste good, and jump out in front of your car.

From what I've been told - that's exactly what kangaroos are! Haha.