Celebrating the road less traveled!

Friday night, and I’m in bed by 10:00p.m. I’m sketching a hugely ambitious project for @eos.detroit. A battle bus for our website with all nine team members hanging on the vehicle like war boys from Mad Max: Fury Road. It’s ridiculous. I can’t wait to see it finished, though. I have a brief window between the work I just wrapped up for Topps and the start of a new endeavor. I can’t go in to detail yet, but once we’re out of the gate, it’s going to be near impossible for me to lift the pedal and slow down.

I’m reflecting on how grateful I am that I can do this evening Hive post from the comfort of my bedroom and not on the road, in a hotel or on an airplane. I’m going to be sharing new photography tonight with a client here in Minneapolis, but even these photos were taken at home […meaning my city]. I’ve been trying to get off the photography tour hamster wheel for years. It took a pandemic, but like many others, I’ve found this time as an opportunity to reflect.

These dark pinup photos were part of a day two event I shot at Lovely Organic Apothecary in South Minneapolis. I was brought on as a guest photographer. Everything from the hair, make-up, wardrobe and set design was handled by the owner, Farah. Honestly, events like this are a dream for me. I get to show up, shoot […the part I’m good at], and leave. The planning and production is what always breaks me with my own sessions […in addition to the travel].

I’ll be shoot with Farah and the same client this coming Sunday. Late in the afternoon, I’ll be doing an interview with Topps on their Twitch channel, talking about the recent work for Garbage Pail Kids, then immediately after, running back to shoot another round of moody, dark photos. Also, this will be my first client shoot with the new Nikon Z6II camera. Something I’m really excited about. This hardware is insane. Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

It is pretty cool that you can pick and choose the photography jobs you want to do now. I am sure you probably hate telling people no, but with all of the stuff going on with EOS Detroit hopefully soon it will be even easier to just work on the stuff that you are really passionate about.

Really pretty!