Macro-photography in the garden

in Photography4 years ago

Macro Photography in the garden.jpg

After being sick 50% of my holidays with the family in Vietnam, I got back home in Australia and started working both for my day job, contributing to Steemit Condenser adding features and fixing small bugs and chatting with other Steemians regarding the TRON/Steemit events and Soft Fork 0.22.2 which I'm not running by the way although I understand and respect the decision made by the majority of the Top 20 Witnesses.

I needed a little bit of distraction and relaxation so I went in the garden to play with my iPhone 8 Plus and the Olloclip Macro Pro Lens Set. Even if your backyard is full of herbs and other edible plants, there are many photographic opportunities if you bother looking around.

Raindrop on a Wood Sorrel leaf

Raindrop on a Wood Sorrel leaf
A simple raindrop through a macro lens can make a beautiful photograph. You need to get close enough to fill the frame and isolate the drop from any distracting element. The narrow depth of field helps a lot here.

Chive flowers

Chive flowers
Many of our herbs plants have tiny flowers that look really nice if you look closer. They might require more magnification which creates some challenges due to reducing the depth of field: it's more difficult to get things sharp when hand holding the camera.

Elderflowers

Elderflowers
Elderflowers are cute too but it was also very challenging because of the breeze that kept shaking the branch and I had to wait for the right moment and take multiple shots until I was happy.

Wood Sorrel flowers

Wood Sorrel flowers

Wood Sorrel flowers
I love purple flowers because they create a color contrast with the green leaves. Wood Sorrel have very delicate flowers with some quite nice texture which I've failed to capture in this photograph. The iPhone 8 Plus camera has its limits.

Cherry tomatoes

Tomato flowers

Cherry tomatoes
Even the the tomato plants are great candidates. With their fruits that goes from green, orange and red and their lovely little yellow flowers, they are very colorful.

Dog Bane flowers

Dog Bane flowers

Dog Bane flowers

Dog Bane flowers
Dog Bane have really lovely clusters of flowers that gradually bloom. A closer look at them reveal more of their beauty. I'm impress that although it's just an iPhone camera, you can still capture a lot of details, see the little hairs on the flowers.

Dark Purple Aeonium Succulent

IMG_4583.jpg
These succulent have amazing look. Young leaves in the middle are green with purple tips and as they grow up they become purple. This is a close up shot of the center.

Comfrey flowers

Comfrey flowers
Another plant with purple(ish) flowers is the famous comfrey that is not only great for your garden as chop and drop mulch but also for your back pain in the form of a salve. The flowers are grouped into curly clusters.

I hope you enjoyed these photos as much as I did taking and editing them.


Vote for my witness
Support @quochuy Witness.jpg
On Steem, Witnesses are playing the important role of providing a performant and safe network for all of us. You have the power to choose 30 trusty witnesses to package transactions and sign the blocks that will go in the Steem blockchain. Vote for me via SteemConnect to help me do more useful projects for the communities.


Credits

  • The image at the top has been generated with the Canva app using my own photo.
  • The photos in this post have been edited with the Snapseed iPhone app
Sort:  

I had to look twice to make sure you said iPhone! I am very amazed that the quality of these iPhone photos are as the quality I get when I take photos with my DSLR. Honestly I haven’t taken any macros this great of quality. Macros are so challenging to capture but worth the wait of the snap :)

It’s good you were able to take some relaxation time and enjoy the beauty of your garden. I really enjoyed these photos, very beautiful shots. That first shot of the Dog Bane is outstanding...as if I were standing there.

Thanks for sharing ~

You can tell the difference between the iPhone and a proper DSLR by zooming 100% into the original file. iPhone images have more noise and artefacts.

Thanks for your comment

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ah okay, that’s the difference ;)

Absolutely!

This is amazing! I was really captivated by the brutality of the images. Big!

You've done great job, I like your composition.

Thanks. I try to pay attention to my composition a lot

Posted using Partiko iOS

these are beautiful, nothing beats nature when it comes to seeking out time for relaxation and connection. xx

Thanks. Nature has that magical ability 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hai @quochuy

glad to see the appearance of your #macro images
by using camera lenses plus additional lenses, by producing perfect and clear images

thank you

Modern mobile phone cameras produce very good photos

Posted using Partiko iOS

Some seriously divine shots here @quochuy! I find it amazing that the closer you get into natural structures, the more you are able to see those intricate and complex fractal-patterns in which they grow. Favorite shots here were the raindrop, the chive flowers, and the first wood sorrel picture.

Yes that is very interesting isn’t it! How complex and beautiful structures are just repetition of the same pattern.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nature is amazing! Very good job!

the details are going pretty well

@quochuy, In my opinion it's not reflecting as a Rain Drop 💧 for sure, in a way it's reflecting as a beautiful Gem 💎 which is sitting on the Greeny Feathery Land. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @chireerocks I like the way you see it :-)

Welcome and thank you so much for your kind appreciation. Stay blessed.

Ooh wow some really nice shots!

I hear you on the breezes, I remember trying really, really hard to take some photos of some tiny flowers we found on one of our walks, was just using my phone camera and ended up getting a child to hold the branch still and others to provide wind shields so all I had to do was force the phone camera to not back focus XD

I think the succulent one is my favourite (and a hard fought one for a favourite it was too XD)

Unfortunate you were sick for so much of your holiday, you are all better now though right?

Thank you :-)

Hahaha, several times I had to give up because the wind was too annoying. Sometimes, the wind stops, you wait a bit thinking it will blow again but it doesn't, so you decide to hit the trigger and then it starts blowing again as if the wind God was monitoring me and was playing some pranks lol.

I'm all good now, thanks for asking.

Beautiful photographs.

!BEER

Congratulations @quochuy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 32000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 33000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

very very beautiful photography...


Hey @quochuy, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

Congratulations @quochuy!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 10 with $ 41,04

Very ,very beautiful flowers!

Amazing photo's... I learn more about photography.

Beautiful