My Entry For The Seaphotography Contest

in SEAPHOTOGRAPHY3 years ago

Who could have imagined this would be one of the last times we saw this ship? It was a regular feature of life here... the twice a day sailing of the Coho between Port Angeles, Washington and Victoria, British Columbia - the closest and fastest route between Vancouver Island and the USA.


Farewell to the Coho

P9040137.jpg

A couple of months after I took this shot, the border between Canada and the USA was closed due to covid-19 and the Coho has not returned. I want to show you a few other photos from that night but first, let me get this shot entered into the Seaphotography Contest, Week 137 by @marc-allaria.




P9040147.jpg

My wife and I were walking around the Inner Harbour. It was a strange kind of pastel evening. The kayakers were out enjoying the evening. Check out this outrigger kayak made for six people.


P9040161.jpg

Looking across the harbour, a tour boat was coming in, passing in front of the houseboat village. In the background, you can see the Olympic mountains in Washington, roughly 20 miles away on the opposite side of the Strait of Juan de Fuca.


P9040131.jpg

And finally, here's another look at the Coho as it was leaving... this was about 5 minutes before the first shot in this post. It's been a long year of isolation. I'm sure I don't have to tell you! Hopefully soon the border will be open again and we can travel and visitors will come back to the island. I can't wait!

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 57 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Beautiful photographs @Keithboone