Alchemy Stones on Hive — Time to Build a New Art Community on the Blockchain!

So here we are, a new venue!

I can't help but feel a little sad about the "uncomfortable" departure from the world of Steem, but I'm pretty aligned with the prevailing opinion that "centralization" is pretty meaningless if your endeavors are blockchain-based.

AS001HiveTop.jpg

And now it seems things are "getting worse" with certain posts actually being censored and a new TOS rule that you're not even allowed to talk about other venues/sites/projects in your posts.

Not even Facebook, twitter or Instagram are that draconian in their community rules. Wow.

Like many, I expect, I'll still be checking in "over there" because it will take 13 weeks to power down.

But enough about that!

AS001Blue.jpg

Art and Spirituality Communities on Hive?

There were many things I "never got around to" on Steem that I hope to be able to devote more time to, here on HIVE.

This blog was always intended as an additional social media awareness point, over and beyond the usual Facebook-twitter-instagram-pinterest brand building set.

I was also hopeful that the rewards might eventually add up to at least a minimal income stream. Never really expected much, perhaps enough that a year's worth of posting would fund some art supplies.

Starting with this new blank slate, I'm interested in further pursuing both a connection with a greater arts community and developing the broader concepts of "Art and Spirituality" and "The Healing Powers of Creative Expression."

AS001Spiral.jpg
Spiral Stones... in a Spiral!

Art Sales on the Blockchain

When the Steem-Hive fork happened, I was just starting to poke at the edges of through the blockchain community.

I'm still interested in that, and plan to pursue it further.

It will be interesting to see what groups like @homesteaderscoop, which was created as Steem-based, plan to do in the future.

And once upon a time there was @steembay, and I have to wonder if someone will create a "Hivebay" or if that project is completely dead.

Even more interesting would be if someone with the skills and experience were to further develop something along the line of the @steem.leo online shop, except expanded to include and facilitate physical products, not just electronic products.

Seems to me that would not only offer a great opportunity for artists, but also create an excellent and tangible Use Case for the HIVE token.

AS001Tibetans.jpg
Creating some COLOR, in a dull world...

Creativity in the Age of COVID-19

We are currently living in a state of what you might call "Voluntary Social Isolation."

This basically means we don't see other people, we don't go to events or stores (most are closed anyway, by order of the governor), and try to limit our "going anywhere" to 1-2 weekly trips to the supermarket.

Since there is very little else I can actually DO, and I definitely do not want to get caught up in the eternal fear-building spiral of watching eternal alarming COVID-19 newsfeeds, I'm going to be working on art, and working on art blogs, both of which are things I can very safely do from home.

Whereas this is definitely a serious situation we are all facing, I refuse to become immobilized by worry, as I sense a number of our friends are. We're not dealing with the Bubonic Plague here; this too shall pass.

In the meantime, take precautions, stay calm, and carry on!

Thanks for reading!

AS000DividerSmall.jpg

Because I am trying to make some semblance of income — a living, even — I now add this footer to all my posts, in the hope that someone, somewhere, might decide to take a further look at my work, and perhaps consider supporting independent art.

Thank you, in advance, for your consideration and support!

My Alchemy Stones Patreon appeal

Alchemy Stones web site and blog

Alchemy Stones on eBay

Alchemy Stones on Etsy

Alchemy Stones on Facebook

Thank you for supporting independent art!

2020.03.22 AS-TXT-035/001

Sort:  

I think you'll find the people who have come across to hive are MORE supportive. Love that we have TIME for art and writing and the 157 unfinished sewing and craft projects. 😍 Nice to see you here.

 4 years ago  

How lovely are the red stones to match the red HIVE! I am sure a HIVE based store will arrive soon.

@porters here on behalf of @NaturalMedicine – Such beautiful pieces! And I like that idea of the healing properties of creative expression! The silver lining to the worlds plight is perhaps now we will have time to pursue our creative en devours! Looking forward to seeing more of your work on HIVE!

curation.png

We'd love you to enter our IMMUNITY CHALLENGE, which you can read about here. There's 50 HIVE on offer & lots of LOTUS to win!