Easy Homemade Electrolyte Recipe for Chickens

We just survived a nasty heat wave. I'm not complaining because for most of the year we are freezing our tits off up here. It was a stressful time for our chickens and so I'm sharing my electrolyte recipe in case yours need a little extra boost this summer too.

This easy homemade electrolyte recipe is simple to make with ingredients you probably already have in your pantry. I’ve already calculated the ratios for different sized waterers for you, so you can spend less time converting and calculating and more time caring for your animals.

Giving electrolytes to chickens can give them the extra boost they need when they are going through a stressful situation. An electrolyte drink will re-hydrate and replace depleted minerals such as potassium and sodium.

During our last heat wave, we noticed our chickens panting, holding their wings away from their bodies, and searching for shade. Their egg production dropped - so, I whipped up this simple homemade electrolyte recipe for them. They all came to drink and seemed to really appreciate it.

I usually offer the electrolytes to the chickens in a separate waterer, so they can choose if they’d like to have normal water or the electrolyte drink. In extreme cases when they NEED electrolytes, I only offer the electrolytes so I know they are drinking it.

One chicken in particular became very stressed and required some time alone in a shady spot where she wouldn’t be disturbed. We gave her some electrolytes and she recovered quickly.

For more ideas on how to keep chickens cool, and to see me make this electrolyte recipe - watch our Youtube Video.

Electrolytes should be offered on an as-needed basis. Here are some other situations that electrolytes might become necessary:

  • extreme hot weather
  • extreme cold weather
  • over crowding
  • travelling
  • stress (predators were after them)
  • illness

1.png

Chicken Electrolyte Recipe

8 tbsp honey (or sugar)

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

Mix together in a small jar. See the table for mixing ratios. Store the extra in the fridge for later. This whole recipe is enough for 4 gallons of water. If you need more than 4 gallons, double the recipe.

WATERELECTROLYTE MIX
1 quart1.5 teaspoons
2 quarts3 teaspoons
1 gallon2 tablespoons
2 gallons1/4 cup
3 gallons1/3 cup
4 gallons1/2 cup (the whole jar)
5 gallons1/2 cup + 2 tbsps

Good luck out there! I hope you and your chickens are having a great summer!

Sort:  

I never came across an electrolyte mix for chickens. In our extreme heat, I kept huge ice cubes and huge bowls of frozen water with herbs mixed in, in the freezers. In the afternoon I would take one of the huge bowls and 3 - 4 of the ice cubes out and set up their lap pool. I'd put the ice cubes in that and leave the huge bowl on the ground for them to pick at. These were both inside the coop, out of the sun.

I cleaned out the freezers yesterday and discarded all the frozen things from last year, as I don't have chickens this year.

That's an awesome tip for helping chickens in a heat wave! I like it! Thanks!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more