Painting in the Sun and the Power of Blue

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

1.jpg


Spring has arrived here in Bulgaria, so it seems.
And obviously spring in Bulgaria is like summer in Northern Germany ^^
It's been super warm and sunny and beautiful the last three days, the birds are singing, the little bugs and butterflies are coming back, and I've seen the first little buds and blossoms on the trees and shrubs.

When it's so nice and warm and sunny, I really can't get myself to sit inside and work on the computer.
Fortunately I don't have to :-)
So I moved my "work" to the terrace and did a little analog painting, which I haven't done in a while (I'm making mostly digital art lately).

I had started this painting a few weeks ago, and as you can see, I had a huge need for blue ^^

I really believe, that colors do something to us and our feelings. And sometimes I just feel, that a certain color would help me, to raise my mood or bring me back towards my center.

Blue is a color that always calms me down. It's deep and open, like the ocean or the sky. And lately I feel, that I need more blue in my life, maybe as a counterbalance to all the changes and challenges of the troubled world outside.

So spending my time in the sunshine with a lot of blue felt really healthy today :-)

So this is how far I got with the painting. I just started without a plan, and I still don't know where it's heading.
It's just to play a bit with colors and to relax.
Also I've realized that it's good for me to sometimes work with real paint on real canvas (or wood, in this case).
Painting is a much more sensible and slow this way, because the paint needs to dry and I have to wait until I start with the next layer. Also I don't have an "undo" button, so I have to be really aware of what I'm doing ^^

I hope, there will be more days like this in the next time. I feel so recharged and relaxed!

This country has really been good to me this winter, giving me a lot of sunshine, even in the coldest weeks <3 Thank you Bulgaria!


2.jpg

all images by me
<3

Sort:  

....continuing with this account

but, in all honesty, I love most colors we find in nature: green, yellow, red, orange. Not a fan of grey haha
That mainly depresses me but it's not much of a color.

I can't wait for Spring to really start. Rain keeps returning here, in Portugal but at least the cold finally seems to have gone.

Big hug and nice to see that you've moved to Natural Medicine with your blog. I'll help you out whenever I can.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Yep, grey really is a depressing color. There are also days, when I just can't stand wearing anything black. It's like the colors that I wear soak into my body and do things with my mind ^^
It's funny that we always tend to certain colors. I love red, I can't help it, a nice darkish wine red, that's my favorite, I think. I just love to have it around me, it makes me feel comfy and cosy :-)

I'd like to write some more posts for Natural Medicine, I really like that community!
Thanks for all your support, really appreciate it <3<3<3

I hardly wear black ( aside from T shirts ) and I love red too. I always forget how much it suits me as a color.

I think you found a community that really fits your persona :<)

Um abraço


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Blue is found in nature, in the sky! Maybe that's why Ana craves it. In color psychology,it is associated with calmness, serenity, trust, relaxation, soothing.

I love the playful nature of the composition and colour!
It is
WONDERFUL to be able to work in an environment which actually "inspires us".

I try to work outside as much as I can, but as I am not painting and am on a screen, I find it quite challenging because of the suns glare. My eyes are already bad and I feel this is not going to help... yet I persevere.


ll.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER

Yeah, I know what you mean. I can't work on my computer outside, not able to see anything on the screen ^^ Most of my work is on the computer, but I'm trying to be outside as much as I can and do the office work, when the sun went down.

Thanks for your feedback to the painting! I'll see where it goes, but I like the colors a lot :-)

Would love to see the final result :)

Me too! :-)

LOL I am sure haha!

Loved to read this! Blue has always been my favorite color

TO BE CONTINUED...

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @rehan12 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

I experienced my first winter on the end of 2020. I live in tropical weather so winter is not like off-equator places. But I did go to the US and it was snowing. Grey never-ending stay-inside days. I didn't have the chance to experience spring. I came back directly to Honduras where it's not summer yet (summer has both sunny and rainy days). In fact we only have wet and dry season here. Both have micro seasons in them but not as marked as in the northern & southern hemispheres.

Anyways, it was very nice coming back to full sun and experiencing greens and blues again after 3 long months of little sun and gray skies.


20201216_142955.jpg
The cold winter in Maryland

IMG_0140.JPG
The sky was pretty blue after the snow, but I was out there only to make a snowman
FAGY9051.JPG
The sunny beach of Punta Ratón (Mouse Point) at the south of the country
IMG_0581.JPG

IMG_0580.JPG
At this point my skin was already burned after a two hour walk in the beach, so I had to use long sleeve

Nice pictures! Yeah, I can imagine, how depressing it must be, to experience a proper winter in the Northern Hemisphere, if you're not used to it. Even if you grew up in a place where the winter is grey and cold, it's hard sometimes ^^
You're home looks beautiful! <3

Yeah, the moment we've been awaiting
all of us :D :D :D