Update from the Jungle - an abundance of peppers and a shower in the wild

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

IMG_20210609_115620.jpg


Wow, already one month ago that I posted about my jungle garden!

Time flies so fast right now, so many things going on, and I'm still learning how to organize everything, so I don't get overwhelmed or stressed.
Both me and my man have different projects going on which could easily be two (or three) full time jobs ^^
But it's so good to have the garden as a balance to all the work on the computer <3

The garden is huge, as I told you, and we decided to leave some corners wild, because it's just not possible for us to keep up with nature everywhere (especially without convenient machines like a lawn mower ^^)
But we're trying to keep those parts of the garden nice and walkable that we use regularly.
But it's always a work in progress, as you see here on the picture of my hammock. I'm still working on cleaning up around it so I don't get bitten by a stingy nettle while reading and drinking my tea ^^

IMG_20210605_160438.jpg


Oh, and I also want to show you our shower!
We are super happy that it's finally warm enough to use it, after a winter without any shower at all ^^
When I look at this picture it looks like something out of an adventure jungle movie, actually quite nice!
But it desperately needs weeding and cutting back, so it won't look that way for much longer.
But I thought it's funny to share it with you ^^

IMG_20210605_171146_2.jpg


And now to the actual food garden!

We recently bought some little plants on market, to add to our own pre grown ones.
We accidentally bought way too many hot peppers and peppers. It's one of those things that happen when you don't speak the language of the country you live in ^^
We thought, that little plastic cup we purchased contained only one plant, so we bought two, just to try.
Then, when we started planting, we realized that it was actually more like 10 to 20!
Yeah, so now we can start researching about how to preserve hot peppers and bell peppers, because we'll have a lot of them XD

IMG_20210609_115925.jpg

We also haven't found a place for all of them still. We would have to prepare some more of the garden beds, but the soil in there isn't as good as in the upper garden, so we're not sure yet.
For now they look quite happy in their baskets and wait patiently for us to find a new home for them <3


I'm especially proud of the cucumbers that you can see in the very first picture of this post. We got the plants from a friend, and they're coming along so nicely!

Just like this courgette plant! Look how big it is already! :)



Another star of our garden is this beet root.
It's actually one of those that we planted as seeds in March without knowing that we would get another cold snap with snow and frost a few days after.

Most of the seeds didn't survive, but some, like this beautiful beet root, did!

So proud of this little plant!



We also got some tomato plants from a friend (again way too many ^^), that look very good still :)

We experimented a bit with different locations, and also with plant companions like basil and leek.

So I'm curious to see which plants grow best.
Still learning all that Permaculture stuff.

And finally the lettuce!
Isn't it beautiful? <3

I didn't edit the colors in the photo, so it's really that green!

We already surrendered two to the snails ^^ but I hope they'll leave us the rest!

I'm so excited about harvesting our own self-grown food soon!
Until then we're trying our best to take care of the little plants and give them all the love they need <3


I made this post as a part of the #gardenjournal challenge by @riverflows. It's always such a great opportunity, and also helps me to not forget to write a garden update every now and then ^^
I will thank myself in a few years, when I can read these diaries again about my very first gardening experiences <3

Read all about the #gardenjournal challenge in River's post:
https://peakd.com/hive-120078/@riverflows/garden-journal-challenge-early-june

IMG_20210609_115649.jpg


all images by me
Ana <3


Sort:  

You're learning fast :) The progress is there since your first updates

That's good to hear ^^ I try my best :)

good job you guys...
it's a pleasure for me to finally see some pics from the place you stay! :)

you can use some crushed egg shells around the lettuces too keep of the snails :)
i tried it and it works..

Ah, right, we haven't really shown the place yet. Yeah, that's our lovely jungle! :)

The egg shells is a great tip! Thank you! We'll try that right away!
<3

see you at the open-air psy party! ;)

The shower does indeed looks like something befitting a jungle. You guys must be having fun!

Hahaha, it's more an uncomfortable experience right now, with all the nettles and thorns around ^^ Also we still have to learn which is the perfect time to take a shower, so the water (which is heated up by the sun) is not too hot or too cold.
But I actually love to shower outside surrounded by nature and in the sunshine, it's definitely worth the inconvenience!
<3

 3 years ago  

Ah, everythhing's looking amazing! And that shower and hammock are definitely my kinda thing - I love showering outside in summer! Sorry I took so long to get to this, life has kinda slammed me of late. Really appreciate your lovely entry so much!

Ah, don't worry <3
I'm not as active as I would like to be here, too at the moment. Life and stuff ^^
I hope everything's fine <3

And thank you! I love writing the garden journals. It's my first ever gardening experience and I love that it's gonna stay on the blockchain for me to read in a few years :)

What a fantastic looking garden, You are right that you got work to do to clean the over growth but that's part the fun 🤣.

Did you know hive now has a community designed just for gardening.

We are working to build the #1 vegetable & Fruit gardening community here on hive.

Please use this link to get to the community. If you would like to find out more from contest to post promotion please join our discord.

Thank you for the tip, I just subscribed :)