Puppy Love

in Natural Medicine4 years ago

IMG_20200607_192817_5.jpg

Gooday folks.
Just over a week ago a puppy wandered into my home, Atmanna. She appeared to be about two or three months old, had no collar and was very cute and friendly. Never having had a dog for a pet, and aware of the responsibilities required if I chose to look after her, I was quite unsure whether to do so or not. My friend Dave offered to feed her when I go away and persuaded me it would be good for her and me.

So, ten days later she's still here. The first night I let her sleep in the house and she pee'd in a couple of places and chewed through my phone charger cable. I decided she'd better stay outside. She seemed okay with this, but with some occasional whining from the door step, but I took frequent visits outside to play with her. Now however I am letting her in the house quite often when I am able to watch her all the time. She sits in my lap while I read or watch a movie.

IMG_20200613_120949_5.jpg

Healthy Food

Being vegetarian (almost vegan) myself, I began feeding her more or less the same as I eat and have been researching to see if a vegan diet is suitable for dogs. I have found mixed arguments for and against, but for now I am feeding her nutricious plant based food such as mostly raw fruit and veg, gluten free (pre soaked/fermented) grains like rice, oats and millet, crumbled rice/flax cake, nut butter, coconut oil, chia seeds etc. and adding healing "supplements" such as turmeric, cinnamon, stinging nettle powder and more.

https://wagwalking.com/wellness/the-many-benefits-of-adding-nettles-to-your-dogs-diet

She seems to be liking the food, eating all I give her and not complaining, although she did bark a little (the only time I've heard her bark so far) at a cut up strawberry I gave her before eating it all!

I will continue to research about best ways to feed her, hopefully being able to avoid meat, but definitely avoiding toxic shop bought processed dog foods.

Natural Medicine

I sprayed her fluffy coat with a weak borax solution after a day or so, and showered her washing with some natural soap a few days ago. Today I put an activated drop of MMS (chlorine dioxide) in her drinking water and will likely do this most days. Also today I rubbed some diataomaceous earth into her coat to keep fleas and ticks at bay. I do not plan to vaccinate her, that's for sure!

Next on my list is holistic training. I will probably keep you updated here.

Oh, puppy has different coloured eyes (like David Bowie) so I decided to name her Bowie.

For now, it's goodbye from me,
and Bow wow from Bowie.

Sort:  

Wow Bowie is very lucky to have found such a compassionate person to live with. It certainly sounds like she is receiving all the nutrients she needs. I think the best judge of all of this is Bowie and how her body reacts to the food i.e bowel movement. I look forward to hearing more about her progress and really happy that she found you xx

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @trucklife-family.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

Such a happy story! Congratulations! Bowie has that look, THE look. She's a great dog, and it sure sounds like she wandered into the right man's life. I look forward to your Bowie reports.

nice, ... I'm in a continuous battle with the mrs. to get a dog which she stonewalls, .. one day a lost puppy wandered in and the mrs. was all over it feeding it and looking after it, .. I'm sure it would have been a similar story in our house if the owner didn't come looking for it 3 hours later, .. oh well, ... now I know I may have to quietly buy a puppy and let it loose in the garden ....... I know she won't kick it out :-) ....... keep us updated!

@tipu curate :)

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 21/28)

That's some nice care of dogs I can see. I hope the owner doesn't come looking for it because you are going to be heart broken. Well I can say love found you, do take good care of her, I think meat is good for her more than vegetables.

Lovely;)
Always good to have a friend on your side she will always be ;) ;)

What a lovely puppy. I've been in the same mindset for ages and offered lots of puppies but could never take the responsibility with my job and other interests. Someday though.

Have fun.

omg so cute! i love her

Bowie! 💚