You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🕊 ecoTrain & NaturalMedicine Presents..."What Would A Holistic Doctor Say?" Ask Dr Mathew Joseph any medical or health related question and learn how Natural Medicine works in practice!

in Natural Medicine4 years ago

Hello Doc
Thanks for this Initiative.

I am a big believer in benefits of urine therapy. I nearly always add some of my first morning urine to my green smoothie (and swish teeth with urine for a few minutes once or twice a day), and if I ever do get sick, which is rare, I'll drink nearly all of my days urine, and fast from food too if sickness is bad, and urine and water enema.

I have a friend who has had high blood pressure / a feeling of palpatations, for many years. The root cause of course is stress/fear/lack of self with/belief in the individual i, due to childhood conditioning. Friend knows this theoretically, yet subconscious beliefs are still there, yet she is working on reprogramming these beliefs.

She has taken blood pressure meds for many years but is now reducing /cutting them out while taking many herbal tinctures prescribed by a holistic practitioner. I have encouraged her for several months to try urine therapy but she is insistent it should only be done having cleansed/juiced for at least a couple of weeks (and she hasn't yet managed to do for that long). She has a good diet, mostly vegan, practices yoga or qui gong frequently.
Her details:
Age: 35
Gender: Female
Occupation: Homesteader

My understanding re urine therapy, having read several books and articles, is that you can drink the urine (and ideally massage into skin also) no matter what the state of health or diet (of course the cleaner the diet the better) but she is insistent this is not the case, so refuses to try.

I'm not sure however about doing urine therapy while taking pharmaceuticals. I think it's ok, but obviously preferable not to take them.

I'm not attempting to push her to try, but a second opinion would be good. So, I wonder what are your thoughts in this subject .

Namaste
Atma

Sort:  

Hi and thank you for your comments and the question. Over the years I have had many clients who swear by the benefits of urine therapy. However I would certainly caution against urine therapy in this situation since the re-ingestion of excreted metabolites of anti-hypertensive drugs [which could still be bio-active] may cause significant dosing issues and consequent problems. There could also be an increased potential for herb-drug interactions for the same reason.

Thanks for your reply

Great answer doctor 👍.
സ്റ്റീമിറ്റിൽ താങ്കളെപ്പോലൊരു വ്യക്തിയെ കണ്ടുമുട്ടിയതിൽ സന്തോഷം. സ്റ്റീം മലയാളം കമ്മ്യൂണിറ്റിയിലേക്ക് താങ്കളെ സ്വാഗതം ചെയ്യുന്നു!-

https://steemit.com/trending/hive-170971

കുറേയധികം കാര്യങ്ങൾ എനിക്ക് താങ്കളിൽ നിന്ന് പഠിക്കാൻ കഴിയുമെന്ന് വിശ്വസിക്കുന്നു! Thanks for being here on Steem!

Thank you @sathyasankar. Although my Malayalam has gone quite rusty over the years I was able to read and understand :) I don't trust myself to reply though, but thank you for the kind words. :)

Apart from the question whether it affects the healing quality, the taste can be like champagne or unbearable based on the diet. This in combination with following the guts' feeling "Does this taste/feel like something my body needs?", i would - purely for myself, this is no advice - conclude that diet is important with this therapy.

Posted using Partiko Android

heres what i wrote ages ago, just remebered i wrote a damn fine post in this!

While practising the more intensive form of urine therapy follow a diet low in protein and salt. Avoid refined pre-processed and synthetic foods such as sugar, white flour, and canned foods. Herbs (also in herbal tea) might cause the urine to taste sharp and bitter making it more difficult to drink. Some urine therapists advise against drinking milk, primarily because dairy products are processed and contain unnatural additives, and because milk produces a great deal of mucus in the body. In general, it is advisable to decrease the intake of acid-producing foods and to increase the intake of alkaline-promoting foods. Reduce the use of alcohol, tobacco and caffeine to an absolute minimum. Urine therapy is most beneficial if your diet contains no alcohol, tobacco products, coffee, junk foods & meat.

i think i have to agree with this.. ive drunk my own pee during times of raw food non smoking diets and during normal coffee and not so clean diets.. its hard to drink when were not hydrated and clean i must say..

Any good books to recommend on urine therapy?