FUDGED IT

IMG_2620.JPG

The year I graduated I was given the unflattering nickname "Fudge Lady". I don't like nicknames. And after a year of cooking dozens of batches of fudge E.V.E.R.Y. day, I also did not like fudge. The nickname didn't stick - thankfully - but my dislike of fudge did. Until, years later, I started making all manner of delicious treats for my children. Treats that tasted like the usual sugar loaded commercial variety but with very inventive healthy ingredients. Fudge was one of the treats.

IMG_2617.JPG

It horrifies me to remember that in my 365 days of fudge makingnot only did I use margarine, sugar and condensed milk but I also used aluminum utensils and ... a microwave. Let's not get into all the health hazards involved in those fudged up days. Until recently I had not glanced in fudges direction. I have also travelled far down the health road and understand how harmful those original ingredients and cooking methods are. Although fudge and I are still not the most intimate of cooking companions, I love this recipe and the goodness in every sweet bite.

IMG_2329.JPG

Half of the challenge of making a healthy alternative to a well known treat is in replicating the taste and texture. I like that the average person can't guess the ingredients and is pleasantly surprised at the taste. The secret ingredient in this fudge is a spice I really love. Cardamon. Another spice that needs to be added in small quantites is nutmeg. Apart from their delicious flavour both spices have incredible properties. They're amazing for digestive complaints, as well as being anti-viral, anti-bacterial and a natural expectorant. I prefer whole spices and grind what I need as I need it. For the fudge I had to crush the cardamon pods and carefully grind the seeds with my pestle and mortar. The combined aromas are wonderful! It takes me back to the spice markets.....

IMG_2610.JPG

Another Middle Eastern flavour that features a lot in my baking is chickpeas. This legume is a wonderful wholesome form of protein and I like adding it into my family's diet. Who would've thought that the texture and colour of chickpeas would make such a scrumptious treat! Combined with chickpea flour, butter gives fudge that rich taste and is a good fat to eat - in moderation. Long gone are the margarine days. While I may occasionally cheat with sugar there's no way you'll catch me near margarine.

So let's make Fudge!!!

IMG_2242.JPG

FUDGE RECIPE:
3/4 cup melted butter
1 1/2 cup chickpea flour
1/4 cup honey or maple syrup
2 tablespoons almond nut butter
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cardamon powder (about 8 crushed pods)
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg powder

IMG_2246.JPG

Make sure that your spices are ground and you have an oiled and lined pyrex dish ready. Over a low heat melt (but do not cook) the butter. Once melted stir the chickpea flour into the melted butter and continue stirring. Maintian the low heat, for about 10 minutes. Make sure that the pot does not catch. You want a golden fudge, but not browned.

IMG_1460.JPG

Once the golden dough forms a ball and smells cooked, turn off the heat. Add the remaining ingredients and stir thoroughly. I've replaced the almond nut butter with peanut butter before and it makes a really yummy fudge.

IMG_2332.JPG

Press your warm fudge dough into your prepared and lined pyrex container. Pop into the freezer for an hour - not longer. Leaving the fudge too long in the freezer will make it more brittle and difficult to cut.

IMG_1462.JPG

Cut your fudge. I find a bread knife works best. Sometimes it helps to heat the knife. Although it stays firm it is best to store the fudge in the fridge. Unless you need to feed the sweet tooth then it probably won't last too long - inside or outside the fridge! For a real spoil I spread a layer of our special chocolate (watch this space for that amazing recipe!) on the fudge just before cutting.

IMG_2333.JPG

Apparently the first fudge was made a century ago. American bakers fudged a batch of caramels (here in South Africa caramels are what we call toffee). Clearly the fudged caramels were not so disasterous. Nearly 100 years later and they are still a favoured treat - at least to those who have not made thousands of pieces of fudge.

As far as this healthier recipe goes: I definitely fudged it!

IMG_2624.JPG

Sort:  

Love it. Bookmarked. 😍

I think you will love these @anggreklestari! Sorry I'm working with children on my lap and hit downvote by accident - just UPvoted

I am just finding this! It looks delicious and no sugar!! I'm in!! Thank you so much!

I hope all is well with you and life is good! 💖

Denise I am certain you will be pleasantly surprised! Even my Cadbury loving husband gobbles these up

Im excited to hear that! Thank you!

Congratulations @buckaroobaby! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 comments.
Your next target is to reach 800 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Thank you @hivebuzz

You're welcome @buckaroobaby 😊👍

Hi buckaroobaby,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much @curie


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I'm absolutely amazed! Do they really taste the same as traditional fudge? Not that I like fudge, usually, it's just way too sickly.

I've featured your post in the Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow.


You've been curated by @minismallholding for Natural Medicine's homesteading newsletter, supporting gardeners, permaculturalists, foragers, environmentalists and other earth centred relationships with the earth.
CommunityIIDiscord

Yes, definitely way too sickly. From my memory of fudge this is as close as you are going to get. I wouldn't call it an exact replica but if you cut back on the cardamon and nutmeg it would probably be pretty much the same

@buckaroobaby this candy looks excellent, I already have it on my blog, because I do not want to lose it over time, sure and I encourage me to do it. thank you for sharing this recipe.
I imagine that the kids will love it, right?
#cometweek
#hivecomunidad

You're welcome @fotomaglys! I hope you get to make it and enjoy it

This sounds so very good!!!

It is really delicious. My husband, who likes his commercial treats, gobbles these up faster than the kids!