You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spring Scenes-Potatoes And Onion Edition

Love those purple onions! We had a bumper crop this year on our homestead but sadly the potatoes (SA weather is now spiralling into winter) was a sudden crop failure after mildew hit. Nice to be introduced to your post @generikat, thanks for the @minismallholding mention. Happy gardening!

Sort:  

Oh! I am so sorry you lost your potato crop! I hate crop failures, and mildew is the worst:(

Purple onions are almost my favorite, I think my absolute favorite are Walla Walla sweet onions, but they don't keep well, so I am glad that purples do much better in that department. My grandma used to eat them like apples lol!

And I am so glad you stopped by, I am excited to follow your blog!

Never heard of them @generikat! But there's many lovely veggies that we don't get here in South Africa. I'm sure your grandma was super healthy snacking on onions! My one child used to eat garlic when he started on solids!

We rescued a handful of potatoes yesterday. I'm going to post about that soon. They're the size of a marble