You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Resting a Chicken

So you actually ate him!????!!! Shock. Have you heard our recipe for a free range rooster @canadianrenegade? Cook for three days in a big pot of water with veggies and spices and a brick. After three days, throw the chicken away and eat the brick..... it's a standing joke of my Dad. And we just culled 24. Yup. THAT many. We gave almost half away but I've filled my freezer. And when I can stomach the job I'll make batches of chicken broth and slow cooked soup. I'm intrigued with your brining trick. I'll try that. Next time. In about 5 years time. Gulp

Sort:  

We did eat him, and I bet he tasted better than the brick. Truthfully, I have a hard time taking the life of an animal but I also know how beneficial eating them is for our bodies. I think it's good to feel sad though, because it reminds me that I am connected to where my food comes from and that I have a responsibility to care for the animals and make sure they are used to their fullest potential. -Aimee

Absolutely!!!