You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Take Me To Your Healer - The Arrogance of Modern Medicine

I think that this is part of the reason why I have stayed healthy for so long... my parents are very medicine oriented; (they insist that I take medicine every time I get a cold even though I'm 32 years old and can decide for myself), though I often take the offered med to please them, but whenever I'm by myself, I would prefer more natural remedies. I have chaga and reishi infused coffee every day, I want to add more cannabis in there, too, and I eat at least four salads a week. I am still trying to find the best balance of natural herbs and fungi, but I keep getting waylayed by my doctor; she tells me that anything I find on the internet about this subject is stupid and unreliable.

What about 2019?

I ask this question because back in '19, I was diagnosed with a condition called thoracic outlet syndrome, which depending on the type can cause a few different symptoms including blood clots, deformed bones, pain, and all sorts of other inconveniences. I happened to have the arterial kind, and both my top ribs, both right and left, had been deformed since I was born; I had to have a total of three surgeries; one to remove the blood clot that was eventually slowly beginning to kill my right hand (fingertips actually went necrotic at one point, and they were as black as a raven's backside), followed by two others, one to remove my right and left top ribs respectively. In light of what you were saying... how did my body miss the chance to heal itself? If not for conventional medical intervention, I would have lost my hand, at best. As a result of the TOS, too, I now have a perpetually high heart rate, and I am now on a beta blocker, and I have found nothing on the natural spectrum to help with this. Do you know of anything? And then what about the folks who are born with conditions that don't have any natural remedies? Those are always tough calls. I highly suspect though that there are things we haven'tt studied.

evidenced Based Alternative Medicine?

The next question... in light of all of this... how do we get the scientific method applied to alternative medicine? that is something I have been curious about (whenever anyone is trained in the medical field, even here in the US, from what I have witnessed, they tend to lose their natural affinity for nature as a healing method. thoughts? Also... don't get me started on how the FDA destroys nature by making synthetic derivative's of natural remedies; look what they have done to mother Canna, as well as what they could have the potential to do to mushrooms (though I applaud them for finally conceding the fact that psilocybin could have the potential to treat depression.) Also, don't even get me going on how they are trying to find ways to reduce the hallucinogenic affects, stating that medical supervision is needed to take those safely with the hallucinations included, so to speak. On who's authority? I have never tried that sort of thing before, but having to do it in a hospital setting, if you ask me, would destroy the experience. that's all I have for now... but I want this discussion to continue.

Sort:  

I will address all the issues raised in your comment in a post or posts over the coming days. But know that these are things I have considered deeply, and I have personal experience with some of these issues that I think will be valuable to share. I had written already, half a reply which was already three times longer than my original post but for some reason the draft did not save and I wish not for this to occur again, so I will just weave my response to your questions into future posts as I've never had a draft fail to save from the submit page and I am thinking maybe this is a problem exclusive to comments.

But, I appreciate you taking the time to leave such a thoughtful response and I definitely will address your curiosities soon, via articles published within the same community I've posted this one in -#naturalmedicine

I look forward to these posts... very much.

I've a great deal of things to write about as I have been silent for the past few years, studying myself and the world. So, if I have still not done so within a few days, feel free to reply here and remind me to do so.