Exotic fruit with excellent medicinal properties

in Natural Medicine2 years ago

IMG_20220407_113502.jpg

Stenocereus queretaroensis is the scientific name of a cactus popularly known as pitaya or yagüarey. It is a tree-like plant with columnar stems. It is very common in the semi-arid zones of central and northern Mexico. Its fruit is called pitaya, a name similar to that of the fruits of the species of the genus Hylocereus.

Pitahaya is the name of this fruit which I have just learned about and tried, I was researching and got some interesting information about the benefits of this exotic fruit.

I will tell you first how I got my hands on this fruit:

I went to the popular market that is near my residence, once a week people from the Andean area of the country visit us, they bring fruits and vegetables that they grow there and being the producers themselves it is a little cheaper and more accessible.
This week they brought this fruit, new to me it was strange. When I saw it I asked the sellers what it was about, they told me: "This is the dragon fruit " I was very amused and asked "if it burned " they told me that its name was due to its scaly appearance, that it was a very sweet fruit, and as I didn't want to be left with the desire to know its flavour I bought one.
This fruit is rather expensive compared to other fruits.

I really regretted not having bought more, as it is quite a delicious fruit, sweet and very soft.

IMG_20220407_113536.jpg

IMG_20220407_113709.jpg

IMG_20220407_114013.jpg


Full of many properties.

The benefits of this fruit are impressive:

From a nutritional point of view, pitaya contains antioxidants, it is rich in Vitamin C, it also contains B vitamins, minerals such as calcium, phosphorus, iron, and a high water content, which makes it ideal for weight loss diets.
It has vegetable protein and soluble fibre. The seeds are edible, contain beneficial fatty acids, which help in the intestinal processes, so it should not be consumed in excess, as it is a natural laxative, my cousin who is in Lima-Peru told me that this fruit is very popular there, and that they use it as a laxative.

I also read that the WHO has recommended its use as it has anti-inflammatory and antioxidant properties.


It strengthens the immune system. Stimulates the production of white blood cells, red blood cells and platelets.

It has anti-inflammatory effects. Its seeds provide essential fatty acids, mainly Omega 3.

Reduces blood sugar levels. It absorbs glucose derivatives and prevents them from reaching the blood.

Improves the condition of bones and joints. It favours the production of collagen thanks to its levels of vitamin C.

Delays cellular ageing. Thanks to its antioxidant properties.


Did you know this fruit?

Do you know of any other exotic fruit that has as many benefits as this fruit?


Informative Link 1
Informative Link 2
Photograph taken with my mobile phone.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thanks for your support

Congratulations @carmenm20! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 34000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 21