Pizza with olive paste, caramelized onions and tofu feta

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

DSC_1339.jpg

In this week's plant based cooking challenge week 10 we had six choices as usual for ingredients. The sweet side and the savory. I tend to lean toward savory most of the time because I don't have much of a sweet tooth most of the time.

When I saw olives and onions I immediately when to the middle east. I remembered a Lebanese take out place years ago where there were the usual shawarmas, falafels and they had pizzas and flatbreads that were different from the usual ones.

Today I made a pizza in a pan on top of the stove. My oven has a broken bottom element so I used the broiler just at the end. It worked fine. No need for a pizza oven.

The base sauce was an olive paste.

Olive paste

1 can or jar of kalamata olives pitted
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup walnuts
Juice of a lemon or more
4 cloves garlic
olive oil (enough to turn the blender and make a paste)

DSC_1264.jpg

These olives were salty so there was no need for added salt.

DSC_1250.jpg

You could use any nuts or tahini or any nut butter. I had these things in the cupboard so I used them. It would be a fine paste if it were nut free as well.

DSC_1265.jpg

I like lemon juice in this but if you are not a fan you can just use water or more oil to grind into a paste.

Add to a blender or food processor and make a smooth paste. I ground up the nuts first into a powder so there wouldn't be any crunchy lumps.

DSC_1269.jpg

I added some Lebanese seasoning mix called zaatar which can be purchased already mixed but it's easy to make if you can get the ingredients. A friend of mine went to Lebanon and brought a jar back for me. I didn't hear of it before but I really loved it. Then I figured out that I could just make it myself instead of waiting for another souvenir from Lebanon.

DSC_1271.jpg

There are different variations of this but this is the basic mix with added cumin. There are also different ratios to this but I did what I like and added the amounts that I wanted of each item.

Zaatar mix

2 tablespoons oregano
2 tablespoons thyme
2 tablespoons marjoram
1/4 cup sumac
1/4 cup toasted sesame seeds
pinch of cumin powder
pinch of coriander powder

Most recipes call for less sumac and seeds but that is what I love the most so I just add more to suit my taste.

DSC_1244.jpg

Another topping was tofu which I ground up to simulate feta cheese by simply marinating in lemon juice, garlic powder, salt and nutritional yeast. Let it sit for the time it takes to make the dough.

DSC_1274.jpg

DSC_1275.jpg

The toppings for the pizza were all cooked separately since I would not be baking the pizza.

DSC_1280.jpg
The final ingredient was caramelized onions which were done with oil in a pan and deglazed with a splash of balsamic vinegar.

For the dough, I wanted it kept as soft as possible so I started with 1 and a half cup of warm water, 1 and 1/4 teaspoon yeast, 1 teaspoon sugar and let it sit in a warm spot to bubble. I just put a pan of hot water in the oven and keep it in there.

DSC_1245.jpg

After it bubbled I added flour not measuring but just enough so I could form a dough that I could work with. I oiled it and put it in my makeshift oven proofer to rise.

DSC_1247.jpg

I used all purpose flour for the dough but when I needed flour to roll it out on the board, I didn't have any more so I used whole wheat.

DSC_1291.jpg

On medium high heat I added the pizza which made two pan sized ones. I left it for a few minutes or so then flipped it back and forth covering each time in between.

DSC_1295.jpg

At the end I uncovered it and flipped it until it was obviously cooked inside.

I suppose flatbreads are made this way, rotis, naan and such but this really had a pizza quality which I was surprised about.

DSC_1304.jpg

It was then time to top it starting with the olive paste, the onion, the tofu which was cooked in a pan first, then some extra zaatar mix on top.

DSC_1315.jpg

Because my top element on the oven works, I finished it off under a high heat for a few minutes to get an extra toasted top. This is not important if you don't have an oven. Everything is precooked first anyway.

DSC_1334.jpg

DSC_1342.jpg

To feel less guilty for eating pizza, I accompanied with salad. The only problem is that after two pieces of pizza and salad I couldn't eat anymore. The real problem was that there was no pizza left over when I wanted a late night snack. Marc ate it all!

DSC_1340.jpg

Wishing you all peace and thank you for stopping by.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

May not look like Pizza but with those ingredients you can't go wrong.. mmmm

Yes but don't forget there's tofu on it!

Trying to forget.

Looks really yum 😋

Thank you @sugandhaseth! I am a bit of an olive fan so to me it was quite fun to eat.

Oh you make them so much. These recipes make me salivate. Looks really delicious my friend.

Thank you my friend. I look forward to salivating over your food soon. I wish for you to get some more vegetables and other things to teach me more of your cooking that I love. It's my favorite.

WOW, I think I should try it someday. I got to ask my mom to make the dough for me. I don't know how to do that yet.

I know you would be good at it. It really is not difficult and you are good at everything anyway!

Greetings, I really liked your post, the step by step description with photo is very good and besides the final result looks spectacular, plus it's great that you could achieve good results without the oven.

A great bonus for me was the additional recipe of your zaatar, I tried it many years ago when I worked with people from Lebanon, in a small specialty store; but since then I never tried it again, so that was a little treasure for me. Regards!

Thank you @mixbar.show! This is a wonderful comment. It's pretty exciting to make things like this without an oven. I am almost happy that it broke haha.

The zaatar that I made was a mix of the basics but I noticed people put different ratios in. I just did it the way I like, but sesame seeds to me are what really make it so I put more than some people do.

Loved the amazing closeups of ingredients. It is completely a new type of pizza recipe. Thanks for sharing!

 3 years ago  

I had just put the finishing touches on the Plant Power Weekly Challenge curation when I saw this post. I think you have may have forgotten to share the link in on the main @LotusShares post, or perhaps I overlooked it somehow. I love the spice blend and what you used in place of a marinara sauce. Do save me a slice would ya?

Well, no need to worry, I can't let this stellar post go uncurated. Funny you made it on the stovetop, this is the same way Pov makes it too, and most pizzas in Southeast Asia not made by foreigners are made using this method. Ovens just aren't a thing over there, especially in tiny living spaces without climate control.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I didn't forget. I just decided not to after posting. But thank you. I think ovens are over rated and I noticed last winter when in Asia that there were no ovens. Too hot anyway.

Congratulations @carolynstahl!
Your post is featured in our latest Plant Power curation post -
Ovenless Pizza, Next-Level Brownies, Suji Khaman, Vegan Chick'n Teriyaki, Granola & Chocolate Chip Cookies, & More!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Delegate II Community II NaturalMedicine.io II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Yes please! I wish I could have one for dinner! Great recipe Carolyn. I must save it for later 💚😘👌

Thank you Lena. Sometimes I need to have some pizza haha.😊

Looks amazing Carolyn

Thank you @pandamama. In my opinion all pizza is good haha.

Not sure I agree with you Carolyn - I've had some pretty bad pizzas in my lifetime - the ones I've enjoyed most have been homemade

Now that you mention it my last pizza from a pizza place was quite sad haha.

I've had many sad ones. Tonight we are going for Pizza - let's hope this is going to be one of those good ones

Wait, did you say FOOD? Foodie is in town on #HIVE!

Yum! Your post would look great with the #foodie tag. You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. We are a tribe for the #Foodie community with a unique approach to all things food and we are here on #HIVE.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on PEAKD.com and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!