What to do with too much jackfruit. We start with jackfruit ice cream

I never thought in all of my long life that I would be complaining about having too much jackfruit.

As a plant based eater, I have discovered the miracle of young jackfruit and how it can be turned into a meat substitute. the most popular dish being jackfruit pulled pork which I haven't made before.

The other day my kitchen manager/ friend handed me a plastic bag of fresh jackfruit. I asked him why and he said his Vietnamese parents bought a big fresh jackfruit, which here in Canada must have cost a fortune. They tore it apart and packed it in bags. They gave it to their son because it was not as sweet as they wanted it to be. I didn't understand this. I thought it was sweet.

I was born in Thailand and live my first four years there. I know I ate jackfruit. I went to Asia last winter and bought some jackfruit. When I ate it I remembered the smell and the taste after not having it all of my life.
The first time last winter that I had it, I thought it tasted like bubblegum. I loved it. The second time I had the strangest reaction to it. I had a tickled throat and then I couldn't talk. Within minutes I had no voice. When I ate this gift of jackfruit I had a similar reaction but not as bad. I knew I had to cook it to avoid the reaction. I don't know much of this fruit so I made ice cream out of it.

DSC_1179.jpg

The following photo is a small portion of what I put in the freezer. I have so much more.

DSC_1068.jpg

I had to make sure it was cooked before I blended it to put in the freezer again. Did I know what I was doing? Not really. I made it up as I went along.

DSC_1075.jpg

First I boiled the jackfruit with around 1 cup cane sugar. After it was boiled down I blended it with coconut cream and juice of two limes. Then I realized that I should cook it again with the coconut cream. I wasn't sure if this can of coconut cream needed to be cooked or not so I returned it to the pot and cooked it down after blending.

DSC_1077.jpg

After it cooked a while I put it in a dish and put it in the fridge.

DSC_1082.jpg

When it was frozen I took it out and blended it again in the food processor.

DSC_1160.jpg

When it was frozen again I scooped it out to eat.

DSC_1187.jpg

There was no reaction so the cooking worked.

DSC_1175.jpg

I don't know why I added toasted sesame seeds but it was a perfect addition to this.

DSC_1165.jpg

Now I'm stuck with so much jackfruit that I will have to figure out what to do with.

The jackfruit saga will continue.

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

I just wake up after I sleep two days and I felt so tired, I think and tell Justin I wanted to eat something sweet. Then I see your post make me so hungry 🤤 if I can have some I think I feel better 😁. That’s looks very nice and tasty my friend. Well done always.

It was very simple but tasty. I thank you for your wonderful comment! 😊

WOW, jackfruit ice cream, I never seen it before. I tried to make a lot of ice cream but it turn out popsicles again and again. Have a good day. I can't wait to see the jackfruit saga.

Haha thank you. I love popsicles!

Looks so good! I do not have any jackfruit but it makes me want to at least put some bananas in the freezer and make banana ice cream, so good. Any ice cream I can make at home is good by me. Hope you figure out a good way to use the rest of the jackfruit

Thanks I almost want to get rid of the jackfruit but it's worth it's weight in gold here in Canada haha!

OMG... this is a wonderful idea. We got a few trees in the garden. And you always have too much of this tropical fruit. I hate peeling it, though! Always a sticky mess. We mainly use it as a meat substitute, but now I will go on the hunt for a ripe one in the garden to make this wonderful ice cream! Thanks for sharing!

OMG you have those trees in the garden? I can't imagine such a blessing! I remember seeing them in Mexico and Thailand. None of them were mine to pick. Such an interesting fruit!

We got a few of these trees.... way more than we can eat... gigantic fruits. The neighbors are always happy if we bring them some. I wish I could send you some!

Jackfruits on trees are so intriguing to me. When I have seen them growing it actually forces me to think about life deeply. Such a mind blowing sight for a Canadian.

Haha. I can imagine. We gotten used to them. But I still gate peeling them. Very sticky mess!

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the June 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow looks so delicious. And it is really easy to prepare. Thank you for sharing this.❤️
I'm excited to see the next dish with jackfruit.

Thank you @pravilsabu I have too much left over. I wish I could share.❤️

Jackfruit is one of those things that I've never tasted, as it has never been available anywhere I've lived. Oddly, though, I recently saw it for sale — in a can! — at my local market. I didn't get it because it was a little pricey and I wasn't sure what to do with it. After reading your post, I decided to read a little more about it.

It bears the largest fruit of all trees, reaching as much as 55 kg (120 pounds) in weight, 90 cm (35 inches) in length, and 50 cm (20 inches) in diameter. [source]

So, please remind me to never sit under a jackfruit tree! 😳

I learned that there are two varieties of jackfruit. The one with the yellow flesh (as you have) isn't as sweet and has firmer flesh. The other has a softer, more orange-colored flesh, and maybe the orange is the kind your kitchen manager likes better. The Jackfruit Ice Cream you prepared sounds yummy! I also learned that jackfruit is often cooked in curries, which might be a good use for your surplus! There was also a photo in Wikipedia of Jackfruit Masala that looked very tasty! 😋

You mentioned jackfruit's sometimes being prepared liked pulled pork, which gives me an idea... Prepared that way, along with side-dishes of Cole Slaw and Baked Beans, one could have a BBQ dinner, which is very popular in my part of the world!

Haha I have been around jackfruit trees and have said the same thing as you. The jackfruit in the can is young so that's what most Canadians use and can afford. The jack fruit I have is ripe and is not the kind mock meats are madw from.

Jackfruit is something I could eat twice, once loving it and the next time questioning if I actually like it. It's not affordable here so lets say I have a million dollars worth of jackfruit still left in the freezer.

I've never heard of the jackfruit before. I assume it becomes sweeter the more it ripens like most things? My horizons have been expanded :)

Yes it becomes sweeter. I would describe it like bubblegum. Perhaps juicy fruit or double bubble. But it has unique taste, which is not for everybody. It costs a fortune in the North if you can even find it. We have a few Asian grocers here that sometimes sell it.

 3 years ago (edited) 

I never knew there were so many varieties until I moved to Cambodia. It's true though, certain ones are not sweet even when ripe, others better for eating green. My favorite variety was one that is grown for the strings in between the fruit, which are actually sweeter and than the fruit. Saving the seeds a must too, pressure cook those little guys and you have mini tropical potatoes.

This sorbet looks lovely, and I think I can say I've never seen jackfruit sorbet/ice cream in my life.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I think it will be the only jackfruit I have until I manage to get somewhere where they grow. I got lucky with this load being given to me.