Winter hydration and consuming more liquids

DSC_4526.jpg

Many people I know think about hydrating only when they imagine sweating. It could be from hot temperatures, running or high aerobic activity.

I believe that many, including myself don't realize that in a cold climate during winter we can be dehydrated even if we don't sweat.

I feel like I haven't been consuming enough liquid filled fruits and vegetables. I don't have time and energy to go to the market because of my late nights working in a busy restaurant.

When I saw a used juicer the other day at a second hand store, I scooped it up. It was a sign that I need to at least have juices when I can. I would like to have green juices mostly.

Many say that too much fruit juice is not good because of the abundance of naturally occurring sugar.
I haven't had the chance to shop for greens and other items to juice, but I had some celery and carrots. I added ginger to the mix. this is an old classic juice combination.

I love this not just for the nutrients, but for the awesome taste. I'm sure a child who won't eat vegetables would not dislike it. Of course you couldn't tell them what was in it.

DSC_4481.jpg

I have been amazed by the horrible food choices that my co workers make. I work in a vegan restaurant but it has a lot of deep fried food on the menu. I don't eat much there, although the food is very delicious and well presented.

At the end of the night each night the young people I work with, order only fried stuff and usually nothing else. They don't ever take a break from it. I fear for their health when we need to be stronger then ever for the coming cold season.

I am not perfect by all means but when I saw that juicer, I got excited. I'll try to incorporate more vitamins and minerals in a glass first thing after I get up. It's really small but works great.

DSC_4484.jpg

Many people buy juicers use it a few times then they put it away because it can be a pain to clean. This one being small is perfect and easy to clean.
I think that if you are interested in quick nourishment for a meal substitute or before meal shot of liquid with good taste, getting a juicer is great.

If you start juicing, changing your diet and/or reducing your food intake to give your system a break, you'll find yourself with a full bladder quite often. The pay off is you feel more hydrated and your skin will start to feel hydrated. I haven't gotten there this time yet, but I've been there before.

The thing that can happen and in my experience it has, is when you change your diet too drastically, you can feel sick afterwards. This is most likely all the toxins moving out. Many people I have known. who have gone from a regular diet to juicing have felt sick then given up.

This is why I am not changing much right now except to incorporate more liquids into my diet. I need to be more conscious of hydration.

In summer we tend to eat more liquid foods and winter we eat more starch proteins and heavy foods for warmth and comfort. You can easily forget to consume liquids. You can also not know you're dehydrated so it's important to be aware of how much liquid you have taken in.

People I know think that soda and juice from concentrate with sugar is hydrating. They will provide a temporary thirst quencher but you won't be hydrated. Don't be fooled.

I have been careless with not drinking enough water when I work. Now I am trying to beat the winter dryness and make an attempt to balance it with liquids.

Meanwhile I will display my delicious carrot, ginger and celery juice.

DSC_4531.jpg

DSC_4533.jpg

Sort:  

i forget my exact recipe, but i used to juice carrots and blueberries with pineapple and apple i think, or some such combination. it was very good. the blue berries are the secret weapon.

now i have vitamix, which is a lot easier to clean, so its more often smoothies than juice

I really dream of owning a Vitamix some day. I love blue berries. I just wish they weren't so expensive but I will keep that in mind. Thanks!

I totally agree with you, hydration is very important for our health. And your juice looks delicious, yummy! :)

!discovery 20


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
 4 years ago  

If you are going to change your diet, it is best to do so slowly. It's good to start with vegetable juice, carrots, beets and cucumbers are my allies. I recommend drinking cucumber juice before starting the day, it cleanses your stomach and helps with blood circulation. Thank you for sharing this publication, that juice looks very delicious :D

Yes cucumber! Thanks for reminding me!

That’s a nice combination! Got to try this one day!
Have a nice day!

Thank you!😊

You remind me that I should really get my juicer back out. I used to use it all the time...

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @minismallholding.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and rebogs.

Haha, it happens to every juicer owner!