My veggie lunch: Vegetables soup and baked potatoes (ENG/ES) Mi almuerzo vegano: Sopa de vegetales y papas horneadas

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

I’ll Tell you about my Veggie lunch.

Les cuento de mi almuerzo vegano

P1060037.JPG

Hello dear community of Hive and Natural Medicine members, I hope that you are all spending a beautiful time whenever you are.

Hola estimada comunidad de Hive y miembros de Natural Medicine, espero que estén pasando un buen rato donde quiera que estén.

As for myself, I am great, and I have decided to document my lunch of the day as a part of sharing this as a vegan option.

Yo me encuentro genial, y he decidido documentar mi almuerzo del día para compartir esta opción por ser vegana.

I am currently not entirely vegan, but I am on my way to gradually reduce the consumption of products that come from animal sources, like any type of meat, dairy products, and other processed food. It is a difficult task, I have to be honest, because eating meat products is also a culturally rooted custom, so if you have been eating meat, chicken, pork, all your life, for example, it becomes quite difficult to just take them out of your diet and not buy that at all when you find yourself in the supermarket.

Actualmente no soy completamente vegano, pero estoy en vías de disminuir gradualmente mi consumo de productos que vengan de origen animal, como los lácteos también, y la comida procesada. Es una tarea difícil, para ser honesto, porque comer carne es una costumbre también cultural muy arraigada, así que si tienes toda tu vida comiendo carne, pollo, cerdo, por ejemplo, se vuelve difícil sacarlos de tu dieta y no comprar nada de eso cuando vas al supermercado.

Whenever i eat vegan, plant based food in general, a salad, some cooked or steamed vegetables, i feel healthier, i feel good in my mind because it almost feels like i am giving something to my body to absorb that is not toxic, full of all the horrible things that meat and animal products have. Recently I have been watching a lot of documentaries on netflix and reading on the internet about the food industry, and particularly the side that is dedicated to animal breeding, and you come to realize how nasty it is, and more importantly, the damage that is causing to our planet. So why not give it a break to mother earth and cook veggie for a day? why not have a little bit of mercy for those poor animal lives that are suffering everyday and begin to reduce how you buy those products? I will completely turn vegan one day, I know this.

Cada vez que como algo vegano, de origen vegetal en general, como una ensalada, o vegetales cocidos o al vapor, me siento más saludable, y en mi cabeza porque siento que le estoy dando a mi cuerpo cosas para absorber que no son tóxicas. o llenas de las cosas horribles que la carne y los productos animales tiene. Recientemente he estado viendo muchos documentales en netflix y leyendo en el internet acerca de la industria alimentaria, y particularmente la parte que está dedicada a la cría de animales, y te das cuenta de que es sucio, y lo más importante, está causando daño a nuestro planeta. Así que ¿por qué no darle un respiro a la madre tierra y cocinar vegano por un día? por qué no tener un poco de piedad por esos animales que están sufriendo todos los días y reducir la compra de esos productos? Algún día seré completamente vegano, lo sé.

Anyway, I love vegetales and it's getting colder here, since winter is coming to the southern Hemisphere, so I decided to just boil some vegetables I had in the fridge that could taste good together very mom style and just made a beautiful yummy soup. In pictures you will see how I did it.

De todos modos, me encantan los vegetales y se está poniendo frío aquí, ya que el invierno está llegando al hemisferio sur, así que decidí hervir algunos vegetales que tenía en el refrigerador que pensé que podían saber bien juntos, muy al estilo de mi mamá, y los hice como una rica sopa. En las fotos verán cómo lo hice.

P1060017.JPG

The heart of my soup was Pumpkin, which is one of my favorite vegetables to eat, and especially as a soup.

El corazón de mi sopa es la calabaza, la cual es uno de mis vegetales favoritos, especialmente como sopa.

P1060018.JPG

Also I added a carrot, a piece of paprika or red bell pepper, some celery which goes perfect with this, and garlic.

También añadí zanahoria, un pedazo de un pimiento rojo, algo de apio que iba bien con esto, y ajo.

I put all that to boil with a little bit of salt for about 30 mins medium to low heat.

Puse eso a hervir con un poco de sal por unos 30 minutos a fuego medio bajo.

Then because I am a glutton, i knew i needed some solid food, so i decided to bake some potatoes with some spices and allow me to recommend you to make this, because it was wonderful.

Ya que soy un glotón, sabía que necesitaba algo sólido también, así que hornear unas papas con unas especias. Les recomiendo hacer esto, estaba genial.

P1060020.JPG

I took the potatoes, washed them good, and then I chopped them irregularly into small pieces.

Tomé las papas, las lavé bien, y luego las corté irregularmente en trozos pequeños.

P1060025.JPG

As a venezuelan, you can imagine I LOVE spices, and there's always a lot of options in my house to make all meals. I think spices give life to my dishes, and actually some of them have really good properties as well to the body. I added rosemary, black pepper, some cumin, turmeric, chilli pepper and some paprika. With salt of course, and olive oil to proceed to dress all the potatoes with all this mix.

Como venezolano, pueden imaginar que AMO los condimentos, y siempre hay muchas opciones en casa para hacer todas mis comidas. Yo pienso que le dan vida a los platos, y algunos de ellos tienen buenas propiedades también para el cuerpo. Añadí romero, pimienta negra, comino, cúrcuma, ají deshidratado y pimentón. Con sal por supuesto, y aceite de oliva para entonces proceder a bañar a las papas con esta mezcla.

P1060022.JPG

P1060023.JPG

P1060024.JPG

P1060027.JPG

I placed them on a tray, and spread them so they could cook all the same evenly.

Las puse en una bandeja, y las esparcí uniformemente para que se cocinaran igual.

P1060028.JPG

I baked the potatoes at maximum heat in my oven for about 40-50 minutes, checking them every now and then to move them with the help of a kitchen palette to make sure they were not sticking to the bottom of the tray and scorching. I know they took a long time to be ready, but trust me when I tell you that it's worth every minute I wait for them. Here’s how they looked when I took them out of the oven. They were crispy, but not dry, and the taste they absorb from all the spices is just great.

Hornee las papas a fuego máximo por unos 40-50 minutos, chequeando de vez en cuando y moviéndolas con una paleta para asegurarme de que no se pegaran al fondo ni se chamuscaran de un solo lado. Sé que tardaron en cocinarse, pero créanme que valen cada minuto que las esperé. Así lucían cuando las saqué del horno. Estaban crocantes, pero no secas, y el sabor que absorbieron de los condimentos estaba muy bueno.

P1060034.JPG

After getting the vegetables to me cooked by boiling them, this is how they looked like. My blender does not resist so much heat so I had to wait for the vegetables to cool down a little bit and then proceed to blend them. This is how my vegetable soup looked, pretty color huh? It was really nice.

Después de hervir los vegetales, así es como lucían. Mi licuadora no resiste mucho el calor entonces tuve que esperar que se enfriaran un poco y luego los licue. Así es como se veía mi sopa de vegetales, bonito color verdad? estaba buena.

P1060032.JPG

So as I said, I felt this meal was tasty, beautiful, and healthy for my body, and proof that you don't need animal products to eat balanced and nice. I hope that you feel that you can also do it if you have all the ingredients available. Maybe I will keep posting some of the veggie meals I feel proud of when I make them.

Como dije sentí esta comida muy rica, bonita, y saludable para mi cuerpo, y prueba de que no necesitas productos animales para comer balanceado y bien. Espero que sientan que lo pueden hacer en sus casas si tienen algunos de los ingredientes disponibles. Quizá siga posteando algunas de las recetas veganas de las que me siento orgulloso de hacer.

P1060033.JPG

Nice to be here as always and regards to everybody, until next time.

Es genial poder estar acá y saludos a todos, hasta una nueva ocasión.

César.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cesarj21! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow se ve muy sabrosa, y facil de elaborarla, gracias por compartir.

Muy fácil, y si estaba sabrosa, ideal para un día frío, muchas gracias a tí por el comentario, un saludo

This is amazing, I have love for potatoes. Will try it definitely once.

Do it! And thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you like it.

 3 years ago  

This looks amazing. Don't you think that baked vegetables just make a better soup? It really brings out the flavours. Soup is just such a good dinner to be healthy. Looks great. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for your kind comment! I actually have never done the soup with the baked vegetables you say but now I'm curious and maybe will try it like that next time? Hope that you keep doing fine.

Las papas se ven deliciosas. Se ve te aplicas en la cocina. ¿Me puedes compartir la información que ha visto en Netflix sobre lo vegano?

Que estés muy bien.

Saludos

Gracias por tu comentario! te menciono un documental que puedes buscar que se llama: What The Health, y también Rotten, y Cowspiracy. De verdad abren los ojos acerca de cómo funciona la industria alimenticia a nivel mundial.

Que también estés excelente, un saludo.

 3 years ago  

This looks tasty and healthy, and you look like one happy chef! Just looking at this makes me want some stale bread for dipping.

Thanks for sharing your homemade cooking with us.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Whenever I am cooking I feel kinda happy yes, so your comment was funny, it made me smile. Maybe one day soon I'll try to make a nice stale bread and share it over here. Thank you very much for your kind comment.

Congratulations @cesarj21!

Your post is featured in our latest Plant Power curation post, Manly Vegetable Soup, Mañoco Food Culture, Pickled Papaya, Heirloom Beans, Donuts, & More!!.

image.png
You've been curated by @justinparke for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting fruit, vegetable and grain recipes, dialogue about cruelty free eating, conscious eating for the planet, and quality meat free food blogs! We upvote, reblog and tweet your great #plantbased content.
Community | Discord


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io