Garden Update - Papayas, ginger, mangosteen

HE'S DEAD! NOW HE'S ALIVE!(1).png

Update from the garden

Papayas, ginger, mangosteen and more! The time has passed since any garden updates so let's get to it and have a look. Now is the beginning of the rainy season so that means I don't have to water every day!

baby chilis.jpg
Here we have some chili seedlings with ginger overlooking.

full papaya.jpg

The biggest papaya tree full of rather large fruits. Its been a good 2 years almost of waiting but I (and my neighbors) have finally been enjoying lots of sweet papayas. Sadly one of the trees decided to die it seems. They are very sensitive trees and often die for no apparent reason.

ginger.jpg

Some nice ginger. Nothing beats fresh ginger from the garden. Really no way to compare with store bought. So juicy.

hibiscus.jpg

A type of hibiscus. Looking forward to making tea with the flowers.

mangosteen.jpg

Mangosteen seedlings. I just throw seeds in the garden and sometimes they pop up like these. Some day hopefully they'll produce fruit.

new flowers papaya.jpg

A female papaya tree producing the beginning of the fruit. The flower has gone.

new papaya.jpg

A papaya seedling I transplanted from a pot I used to grow it more quickly.

not sure.jpg

I don't know the name of this one but Thai people eat it. I like the shiny leaves.

papaya fruit.jpg

Some more papaya fruits hanging in there. Once they start turning yellow a bit have to take them off the tree or else the birds and squirrels will eat them.

plant.jpg

I also don't know the name of this one but it can be eaten when small. This one is quite big and actually had some "flowers" recently which were just red seed pods. You can see this one everywhere in the nature.

Thanks for reading and hope that you have a garden going as well. The feeling is wonderful to grow some of your own food.

Please upvote and reblog!

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

You're making good use of that small space. The whole family says hi.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thanks and a big Hi back! Yeah I keep throwing in seeds and seeing what grows hehe.

 3 years ago  

That papaya tree looks beautiful, I would bring down some green ones like this to make papaya candy (in my country it is made with green papaya) it tastes really good. Great post!! I loved it.

Thanks for your kind words. My neighbors like to use the green ones for papaya salad/sumtom. I like the sweet ones. Papaya candy? I'm interested :) How do you make that?

Your papaya trees are quite interesting! It's interesting to see how they grow.

Thanks. Yes it takes some time and they need full sunlight which isn't always the case here because of the buildings surrounding. But they do ok.

Nothing like harvesting, cooking and eating from your own garden. I don't have as many as you have yet, but we enjoy the little we have. It helps a lot.

And we've also planted a few trees, but have to wait a while before they'll give us fruits.

Yes its truly a great feeling even if someone else ends up harvesting the fruit. I've done the same planting some trees that take at least 5 years...

Yes, for us 3 - 5 years also and we're very patient. In the meantime we're enjoying the peppers, tomatoes and other greens from our garden.

Yes many people like the green papayas but I think its worth it to wait for the sweet yellow ones. I'm going harvest two large ones today... :)

Hmmm delicious. Enjoy them and have a great weekend 😊.