You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prolonged

It really is freedom from something that generally takes up so much of our time (cooking and eating). I've heard that going keto for a week before or so will make the transition much easier, makes sense since there won't be any carbs to burn during the actual fast.

Curious, you only have a glass or two of water per day during the fast?!

A lot of people talk about the mental clarity benefits, I'm surprised that your energy levels spike that late in, though it makes sense since your body is just running on pure fat at that point, just like how we evolved.

Do you have a go-to procedure for breaking? I start with bone broth, then wait a bit, then have a pretty light meal with some fish and nuts. Crazy how much the stomach can shrink.

Sort:  

to clarify, I normally drink 3-5 liters of water per day, but when I fast I also add apple cider vinegar and salt to a few glasses of water. Salt helps retain minerals in the body and apple cider vinegar helps autophagy.

At first I worried about what foods to eat when breaking a fast, but I quickly figured out that I could eat a normal keto/paleo meal (meat and vegetables), even after a 7-day fast. Not too much, but still a decent-sized meal. Not everyone can do that, but thankfully I can have a steak as my first post-fast meal without worrying about digestion.