Makha-Sa, my garden, is waking up for spring

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

Hellow Natural Medicine community! My name is emsenn, and this is my first post I'm sharing with y'all! I hope I've followed the rules; please let me know if I haven't! I'm Itazipco Lakota, living on the eastern part of Turtle Island. (That means I'm "Native American" and live near the east coast of the United States.)

For the past few years, I've been cultivating a small bit of urban space around me into a garden. To honor its roots as an inhospitable spit of gravel and bright red clay, I call the garden "Makha Sa," which in Lakota means "Red Earth."

Earlier in the week, it was unseasonably warm, and then there was a good rain. It's about 10c out now - too cold to do much with how wet everything is, but it's cloudy, so a good opportunity to take some photos!

A native variety of mint, Pycnanthemum muticum, slowly coming back up now that the frosts are gone.

A native variety of mint, Pycnanthemum muticum, slowly coming back up now that the frosts are gone.

Bee balm, Monarda, a local medicinal herb.

Bee balm, Monarda, a local medicinal herb.

A succulent, species unknown. This was just a few leaves back in the fall, though! It's been covered by leaves for months, and I uncovered it to be surprised by this!

A succulent, species unknown. This was just a few leaves back in the fall, though! It's been covered by leaves for months, and I uncovered it to be surprised by this!

Another unknown succulent - this one gets full sun, so has gotten a little sunburnt with the longer days! It'll adjust soon and turn a milky-blue green.

Another unknown succulent - this one gets full sun, so has gotten a little sunburnt with the longer days! It'll adjust soon and turn a milky-blue green.

It's not just herbs and succulents! We've also got a bit of arugula going ot seed. Such pretty flowers!

It's not just herbs and succulents! We've also got a bit of arugula going ot seed. Such pretty flowers!

And elsewhere, there's peas finally coming into bloom, after dealing with a winter of very confusing weather!

And elsewhere, there's peas finally coming into bloom, after dealing with a winter of very confusing weather!


I'm planning to write more posts, talking more about my specific relationship to each of these plants, and why I'm choosing to grow it, but right now, the sun is thinning out the clouds, so I'm going to head out and see if I can't make a little more progress gardening!



Posted on NaturalMedicine.io