Another snowstorm, another ice hole

20210110_122059.jpg

It's been almost a week since I managed to swim outdoors in an ice hole. Visited the frozen Lake of Maidla with some buddies last time late at night and this has become a bit of a habit, ice swimming at night. We usually bring a few powerful flashlights which light up the path nicely, stright from our blanket for the clothes right up to the ladder leading into the dark waters. But dark times unfortunaly also mean less photos and hence, less posts.

20210110_133428.jpg

Today I managed to get my stuff done quite early, so we hopped into the car and drove to Maidla, before it could get dark. The thermomometer showed a solid -4 degrees Celsius and the flag on the pole in front of the neighbouring house was flipping around, all while snowing large flakes, so this resulted in a nice mild snowstorm. Well, northerners barely call it a storm, but I surely did, when I climbed out of the ice hole later and felt the freezing bite.

20210110_133455.jpg

Anyway, the side roads were quite snowed in, but a good all-season tire will keep you on the road solidly, while the ESP-sign on the dash blinked a few times on the main roads while driving on the soft and wet mush, where the snow had already melted.

No worries, I took my time driving cautiously, as I was not in a particular hurry, haven't swam in the lake for a week now and all that. Oh I have been taking ice cold showers all week, which give a bit of a different high, but now for the real thing.

20210110_133434.jpg

20210110_133459.jpg

20210110_133506.jpg

I grabbed some photos of the lake before getting to the main course - you can see our usual swimming spot with the wooden bridge further away on the other side of the lake.

20210110_133503.jpg

Some lads were apparently having a party across the lake on yet another side, as merry noises filled the air as they carried over across the lake.

Seems I was looking for excuses to delay jumping in and I realized this myself. The snowfall felt more colder now, so I did a few jumping jacks and sent my clothes flying away and climbed in.

Shit, why did I fear this so much? It's a always the same - the fear before is bigger than the event itself. The water felt warm until I was in up to my hips and then it was just a question of sliding in and viola, in I was. Wasn't hard at all, just like every other time, but our minds play tricks on us as long as we allow.

swim1.jpg

Here's me feeling cool in the pit. A bit over 4 minutes and that was it for today. I hear some buddies made a new swimming hole in the ice in Männiku lake which I would definitely love to try out, but perhaps not today. After all, tomorrow is a busy day, and I'm planning to have some sauna tonight - alternating sauna and cold showers multiple times in one evening in the past has shown that my body might lack energy the next day. But I will definitely pack my swimming gear soon again and looking to jump in the ice hole soon again.

swim3.jpg

Sort:  

no drone shots this time? :( otherwise great content!

This was a quick in-and-out with family, my mates operate the drones. Will get the shots another time :) Cheers!

Ice and ice. The photos are beautiful. After all really amazing photography.

Thanks, just some smartphone photos, but I admit, snow-covered nature is serene and beautiful.

@tipu curate 2

Cheers! 😍😚

4 minutit tõmbab keha temperatuuri normi alajahtumiseni ju

Mul sõpsid istusid üleeile siinsamas teisel pool järve saega jääaugus 8 min ja tegid augu suuremaks ja eile Männikul 10 min. Kuskil tuleb kindlasti piir ette, millest ise aru ei saa, seega ekstreemsed ajad on tõesti ohtlikud. Trummi basseinide töötajatelt kuulsin küll lugusid, kuidas noori mehi basseinist välja tõsteti ja elustati 😁

😱😨❄️ At the moment I think you're crazy, but I'm sure when it's well over 40C here I might be dreaming of being able to do this!

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @minismallholding.

Did you know that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and reblogs.

Au contraire, the people that don't do this, are crazy 😂 They're missing out! Of course, the me from 2 years back would also think I am crazy :)

Have you seen this short video from the Iceman, Wim Hof? Very inspiring.

Oh, meganice.. how hard was the ice there?

You could roll some old naval cannons on the ice there and it would not budge one bit!

Congratulations @furious-one! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 54000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.
You received more than 19000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 20000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP