Let the seals in the water!

Hi everyone, on this sunny day from this part of the world! Hope everyone is doing alright and spending some time outside to get that precious Vitamin D. The spring is felt heavily in the air already and we've had another run at the Maidla lake and today was actually the first day in a while when my fingers and toes didn't feel like falling off after our swim.

If you think I've been skipping on winter swimming, oh no, just our trips have been fast and I've barely bothered to grab the camera. Also, I've focused massively on cold showers these last couple of months, so I can tell you my health hasn't been this good since ages.

IMG_20210404_131615.jpg

But today we actually dilly-dallied a bit around the lake as we were picking the perfect spot. There was a heavy spring breeze in the air that would have the potential to bring you down with something nasty if you didn't dry yourself fast enough after the swim so went for the lower bridge where the wind was weaker.

IMG_20210404_131629.jpg

Zooming in, you can see us not being too eager there but the weather is perfect for a picnic, so why not for a swim, eh?

Capture.JPG

Capture2.JPG

IMG_20210404_134905.jpg

And besides, here's me already barefoot so there's no turning back now. If you didn't know what I look like, here's your chance to familiarize. And barefoot at a water body is where you'll find me.

IMG_20210404_132807.jpg

Seals in the water!

IMG_20210404_133206.jpg

This time we managed to waddle around in the ice pool, but next week, if this weather keeps up, we'll probably be fighting razor sharp blocks of ice right here in this spot

IMG_20210404_132247.jpg

Here's a quick drone shot gif for closure

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

Hope it's been a bit of a change for all the serious stuff you see around you everyday, even here on Hive. Stay positive and carry on!

Sort:  

Glad to see that you are healthy mate!
Had my first "winter swimming" experience this year as well, and oh boy did I fall in love. Seriously out of body experience and I wish to feel it again soon.

Wish you the best of luck Furious!

Ah @frankk, that's nice to hear! It seems estonians really are nation of saunas and winter swimming. We've got @raili on board the winter swimming train, for a month already, now I hear you also, there's probably some other blokes as well from our Estonian Discord group, @luts and other peeps..awesome!👍 And perhaps we'll stumble upon each other someplace as well.

Hopefully it will happen yeh, but I agree on sauna and swimming going together, although without sauna cold water is still nice and refreshing, and most importantly good for health(if not in there for too long).

Haha, some of my mates were in the near-zero temp water for 10+ minutes...one guy was in the water for 15 minutes! They are totally insane. Of course with a lot of practice and all that, but later they admitted, it wasn't fun anymore.. But thats proof that our limits can really be pushed. To be honest, my own body would also withstand more, but fingers don't agree.. I might get some thicker gloves for next winter.

Really nice to see you mate and obviously, you're well! Very well....but I want to know, how long does it take you to stop shivering and get back up to a comfortable body temperature after the swim?

Hey mate nice to hear from you, hope all is well with you too! Everything is good here as well!

I remember in the dead of winter these swim sessions hit really hard and left us shivering for more than half an hour, but the degrees were different at the time, air -10 and water around 0 degrees Celsius. Now it was merely 5-6 Celsius and to be honest, we felt quite relaxed in the water and I think I shivered for maybe a few minutes... it went by soe fast I didn't really even notice

Furiii! Nice to see you still at it!
Hope to pop my winter swimming cherry next year 😄 🤘

Hei @xves It's never too late! Let's pop your winter swimming cherry!! 🤘

nice to see the drone gifs again

Remembered you liked them so included it 😃

You had a longer swim since the water was warmer or was it still so cold, that you didn't notice the difference?

Hei @nrg the water was a tad warmer already to our surprise, around 5-6 degrees and I was in the water for more than 5 minutes and my fingers didn't feel any pain (I still use gloves at the temperatures). Compared to the near-zero degrees water, where my fingers wanted to explode after a minute or two.

Perfect time to pick up cold-water swimming my friend 😃

I've started my training by washing dishes with the coldest setting. It's a pain

What a ledge! You're halfway there. Next you should even try drinking cold water!

Also, here's another trick for you:

tenor.gif

 3 years ago  

I am freezing just looking at these pictures from here in tropical Suriname. I once lived in a place that consistently dropped below -40°C, but I would've never dreamed to think about ice swimming. There's no doubt this is good for your health though, and you are brave than me my friend.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Thanks for dropping by my blog, and oh boy how I wish to be somewhere warm so many times in the winter.. But we make due with what we have and try to make the best out of it - and to be honest, this love for cold-water swimming is an acquired thing. I still fear going in everytime, but I still start desiring it the next day again.

Congratulations @furious-one! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 61000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 62000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!