The Neglected Asparagus

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

IMG_1862.jpg

Don't worry about the belly-up Corgi, it's just an attention hog....

Years ago, we made a few raised beds around our made from scraps greenhouse. In one of the beds I deposited a bunch of horseradish roots that were hanging around the farm, and while I was planting said roots, my hubs presented me with a handful of asparagus crowns.

IMG_1860.jpg

I plunked the crowns into one of the raised beds and then proceeded on, kinda forgetting they existed for most of the year as I was a little more preoccupied with young children, 300+ lavender plants, a garden the size of West Texas, homeschooling, and a job at the library. The most attention I paid the asparagus was to ooh a bit when I saw a couple lacy fronds bloom out of the one or two spears that would come up every year.

However, last year I decided to pay attention to the asparagus after telling myself to do so for like the last three or four years or so. (Side note: It's amazing how many more things you get to when your kids become competent and functional teens:). Anyway, I weeded out the bed, added some compost, and spent the winter with hope that more than just a few asparagus spears would emerge.

IMG_1861.jpg

Well guess what! I got asparagus! And it was nice in size, and there's more on the way! Now, admittedly there's only enough for one person to enjoy a nice serving, but as I'm the only one in my house that really loves the stuff, I am still pretty excited about this development.

IMG_1858.jpg

Asparagus, aside from being delicious, contains a lot of nutrients and fiber without being super calorie dense. I love to toss asparagus with olive oil, salt, pepper, and minced garlic, roast it in the oven, and squeeze fresh lemon juice on the resulting roasted veg of gloriousness. Pickled asparagus spears are also a snack of excellence!

IMG_1857.jpg

This summer I plan on keeping the bed well-weeded and properly amended with applications of glorious compost. I'm not really sure if horseradish and asparagus are meant to be companion plants, but they seem to have gotten along all of these years. When the asparagus blooms out all dark green and lacy fronds, it looks pretty striking against the backdrop of lime green horse radish leaves.

And on that note, I must run. This is the busiest of times for me on the farm, our daylight hours are getting longer, the weather is warming, and plant life is just exploding out of the ground. My next post will most likely be about what I have been up to in my downsized vegetable garden, it's only 80X100 this year, but I reconfigured everything to be a lot more integrated and permacultury (that's totally a word).

Also, I'd love to hear of any of your favorite asparagus dishes!



And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's still sighing at the shameless photobombing Corgi's behavior iPhone

Sort:  

I've never grown asparagus! Glad yours is producing enough to eat this year. I do think The Neglected Asparagus would be a great name for a restaurant, pub, or rock band.

I hope someone takes the name and runs with it, I’d eat there or cheer loudly for them lol!

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you!!!

I gave up growing asparagus years ago when the asparagus beetles chewed through the row cover protecting the shoots....

I got some at the store on Saturday and it will be supper tonight. Probably simple: steamed and with garlic scape pickle juice on it.

Dang! You have some serious pests back there! I’ve gotta say though, I love the idea of eating asparagus with garlic scape pickle juice on it, that sounds divine:)

I have been making observations about growing asparagus in Indonesia for a long time and I feel that is not possible. Even in a classy restaurant, I find it hard to find asparagus menus here.

You are very lucky to have them.

Oh wow, I bet your tropical climate definitely would make growing asparagus a challenge! Another Hiver I know felt that way about blueberries too, she just couldn’t grow them where you all live, but you have mangos and papayas, right? Love those:)

And makes your pee smell incredibly weird. The first time I ate asparagus after many years, the next morning was: Wtf?!?

LOL! True, very true! Lol lol

About 10 years ago, Matt and I found ourselves renting an acreage with beautifully established flower gardens and a small garden plot. Nestled between some flowers was an asparagus bed. It would have taken us much longer to figure that out if it hadn't been for his mom's keen hardening eye. I definitely took advantage of that stroke if luck. -Aimee

Ooh, serendipitous asparagus! I love it! It sounds like you got some good gastro-mileage out of that discovery, that’s awesome!

You have framed Asparagus. Really amazing photography.

Thank you!:)

Sighing at the shameless photobombing Corgi!!! You can be sure that will be the favourite aspect of your post for many readers @generikat. I also have photobombs, but it usually involves a goat! I love asparagus. The season is so short and for some reason our little plant doesn't produce much. Yours looks so healthy! YAY

Unfortunately, i don't have a favourite asparagus dish.
But i ate it with roasted chicken one time, with lots of spices and all. It was magic. That was a couple years back, so i can't call it my favourite, even though it was my only dish i've ever had of it.
I'll like to try more out someday, especially with these dishes you are detailing down here. They sound sumptuous.
Thank you for another day of learning. See you on the next post.