Mullein Is Healthiest I've Ever Seen It

We've been in our current residence for three summers now and the first growing season I happened to notice this mullein plant growing in my front garden and herb bed. I left it alone; and to be honest, that first summer it was quite pitiful looking. The leaves seemed to shrivel up, had munch spots from a bug I believe and it just didn't look too healthy. But Ileft it alone. And I'm so glad I did!

The second summer, the plant seemed to be getting healthier and looked better. I was comfortable enough to pick some leaves to dry out and have in my homestead apothecary.


mullein.jpg

And now, the third summer, just look how healthy it has become. Full leaves, no munch spots and it's beginning to grow the center spike where the flowers bloom from. I did learn that mullein is actually a biennial; which explains the lack of growth from the two years prior.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Upon further research over the years, I have discovered many uses for this "weed" including:

  1. Emollient and astringent properties
  2. Anti-inflammatory properties
  3. A disinfectant that can be used to treat internal and external infections
  4. It kills bacteria
  5. Antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties that can treat joint pain and soothe inflamed tracts in your body
  6. Also have read it can help ease upper respiratory issues

I know once the stem grows and the flowers emerge I will be harvesting and drying the lovely yellow flowers to keep on hand for brewing tea for sore throats; which always occur during the changing of the seasons.

I'm also considering making some mullein poultice (for abrasions and cuts) and tincture for any upper respiratory issues.

In my researching of mullein, I have found some great ideas (other than the ones mentioned above) that I can use it around the homestead.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


Powerhousecreatives Exclusive Member's Signature made by @zord189

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Ah this is a stunning plant. I've been finding it in the UK. Did you know it's excellent for removing heavy metals from the ground? They did a trial of it in Siberia. You wouldn't eat it from contaminated land in that case (though you wouldn't generally with any plant in contaminated ground) but they thought it was a keeper for renewing industrial areas!

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @artemislives) - join our community here.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

I love mullein! It has so many uses. Smoking it is also supposed to be beneficial and it's one of nature's natural toilet papers.😀 Of course, it's too beneficial to be wasted on the bum, lol.

Biennial usually means grows first year, flowers the second and dies. Odd that it has grown 3 years now. Wonder if it will flower this year?