You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should We Only Post About Our Happy Moments?

I'm so with you. I usually write about my hardships(not even intentionally, it's just how things flow out) and I often wonder how annoying it must be to some people. But hey, they are also welcome to unfollow me and never see another post from me!

And on the note of being "real". I couldn't agree more. I think it's wonderful to write about how great someone's life is going; how much money they're making; how they found their dream job.. etc.... BUT.. I can't relate to that. It feels so, well, almost dishonest to me. Not dishonest with me, but almost as if the poster isn't being honest with themselves. I see a lot of buried emotions and fake smiles coming through a lot of posts(and no, I'm not just talking about HIVE or anyone specific- I mean in general).

And... it bores me, as well. A few people have made comments recently about my affinity with horror films. Well, I think this ties into that as well. I want to see something real(even if it is over-the-tope "fake"). I want to see emotions. Something that makes me feel. Something so open and in your face about the real issues surrounding the writers/the world.

<3

Sort:  

Hahaha yep! Sometimes when I'm not even planning on mentioning about my hardships they somehow flow out.

I agree. I mentioned in another comment that it’s the way we’ve been conditioned by societal standards of living. Many people try to bury or hide behind the realness because it’s not deemed good enough. So in order to feel good enough all of the pretty (made up or not) is displayed instead of one feeling free to really share what’s really going on in their lives.

I for one would not be able to live that way. I know what you mean when you say an author isn’t being honest with themselves...this is how I would feel if I didn’t allow myself to share my hardships and flaws.

Something that makes me feel. Something so open and in your face about the real issues surrounding the writers/the world.

This 👆🏽 exactly!

Thank you for reading and sharing your feedback, it was nice to read :)

I for one would not be able to live that way.

No, absolutely not. I don't understand how people do. And so many. But I guess that's how tragedies are also born..

Don't thank me, I meant it! A really great article <3