The Train Journey ; Open Thoughts On The Changes Needed to Mental Health Services

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

image.png
Image Credit

Mental health services are strained in the UK at the best of times and following the lockdowns, there has certainly been an increase in the number of people feeling overwhelmed and exhausted by the imposed restrictions.

Job losses are at an all-time high, people are losing their homes and lack of human communication is even taking its toll on the mentally strong.

Most people rely on the NHS to provide help for mental health issues as here in the UK those services are free. Medical Insurance is something only the wealthy seem to use, rendering private services out of reach to most of the population.

There are many self-help techniques and natural alternatives that can provide coping mechanisms and healing. It would be lovely to see that knowledge freely given to people. There are helplines, such as The Samaritans, a special helpline devoted to those people who are feeling suicidal. But I can't stop thinking that a more holistic approach is needed to help those who are struggling.

I would love to see a world where healing retreats replace mental institutes. Where creative therapies complement more traditional visits to a psychiatrist. Most importantly I believe how we work needs to change too. I think that mental health days should be replaced with "wellness" days. Where you can elect to spend a day doing whatever improves your emotional state. With each employer setting a minimum allowance of one or two days per month for each employee. I would also love to see more schools embrace mindfulness, nature connection, and coping strategies for children and extend this to after-school clubs that can invite parents to join in too.

image.png
The beach at Wrabness Woods, the other side of the train track

It was a cold day, late November 2020. I had taken a trip to see my friend and to collect my bicycle from her house.
It takes three trains to travel between our towns although she only lives 3 miles away from me, a river separates us which makes it a bit of a pain to travel at the best of times.

On this particular day, I experienced something that I never want to experience again.
The trains were running smoothly and I had hoped to get home in time for dinner. My eldest daughter picked the little dudes up from school and I was looking forward to cuddles and reading time with them before they went to bed.

The train should have arrived at its destination at around 5:20 pm. The final train between Manningtree and Harwich. There are five stops along the route and one of which is a beautiful place known as Wrabness. It is an area of outstanding natural beauty. A wonderful forest straddles the edge of the river and the beaches there are stunning for an English village.

Sadly though, this forest is known to be a place where many suicides have taken place. The rail line cuts through the forest and some of the bridges and high banks make it one of those places where people seem to end their lives.


image.png

On this particular train ride home, we were between Mistley and Wrabness. The train was reaching top speed when there was a loud crack. I thought the train had hit a branch...

The emergency brake brought the train to a halt. There we were,

stranded in the darkness,

wondering what had just happened.

Then the ominous news that none of us passengers on the train wanted to hear was announced by the driver.

"We are sorry for the delay, we are working to resolve the situation as soon as possible. The reason we have stopped is due to a person hit by a train. The transport police and paramedics have been notified and are on their way. We thank you for your patience and understanding at this time and will update you as soon as we have more information"

It was easy to tell that the driver was shaken up, the slight warble in his voice was a telling sign.

I could hear a group of college kids further down the car I was in, complaining about how their takeaway dinner is going to be cold, one complained he needed a cigarette. I tried not to be judgmental and understood that teenagers can be a little self-absorbed, but I was angry at them for being so selfish. I didn't want to feel angry, so I resolved to forgive them. After all, they, just as the rest of us, all wanted to get home, whatever the reasons for getting home on time may have been.

I sat on the fading, crumpled cloth seats, trying to hold the tears back, thinking about what drove this person to end their life.

Did they have a family who loved and cared about them?

What awful circumstances made them decide to want to end it all?

Perhaps it was a slightly selfish empathy as I had felt like ending my life the year before. I managed to pull myself out of it, so the reality of the situation we were in, on this train enveloped me in deep sadness. I wanted to know why this person had chosen to take their life. I felt this strange connection and my heart wept. All this while the cracking sound, echoed in my head. I don't think I will ever forget that. Even now, when I hear cracking noises, I am brought back to the memory of that evening.

The area is quite remote and I think it took around three hours before we were taken to Wrabness where a bus met us for the rest of the journey.

I feel for the driver. I later read that there is a special service for train drivers who have been involved in incidents like this. They are relieved of their duties for a period of time and offered to counsel.
I can't even begin to imagine the feelings that man went through. Not only the event but then having to explain that you just unintentionally killed a human being whilst doing your job to a bunch of people who were expecting you to get them home safely and on time. I hope he has healed from the trauma of the event.

I couldn't stop creating imaginary scenarios in my head of who this person was.

I settled with the conclusion that the person's life had been affected by Covid in some way. Perhaps the lockdown, maybe they lost their livelihood, family breakdown, maybe lost a family member?

Was their rock bottom so hard to scramble out of that this was the only option they had? Who were they leaving behind? Did they have a partner? Children? Grandchildren? Nieces or Nephews? How are those family and friends going to feel when the police go to them with the news?
What devastating chain of events will that leave behind for the family members?

I have all these unanswered questions. Wild assumptions, perhaps my own way of trying to come to terms with that day. I still am reminded of the event when I take the train and hold a thought of manifesting a good journey. Although it is a little hard to not wonder where exactly it happened, maybe that's a good thing though. The fact that it was dark that night. It still haunts me though to an extent.

It never made the news and I still have no resolve in that sense.
I understand that maybe some families wouldn't want that in the newspaper. Is it wrong of me to want to know for my own closure on the event?

I still don't know to this day, who it was or why they chose to end it all. It has certainly left me contemplating the reasons why these incidents happen and what different approaches we can take to improve people's mental health.

~ONE LOVE~



holisticmom.jpg

***


CommunityIIDiscord

***

abundance-tribe2.gif

***

ecoTrain_logo_main.png

Sort:  

Hi @holisticmom,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you 🤗😊

Congratulations @holisticmom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

The Covid Con is dashing the hopes and dreams of so very many young people! I had this experience once on a NYC subway train. It was awful, and for months afterwards. Really, the event happened to everyone on the train, more lives stressed. Bummer.

I am sorry that you experienced this too.
I agree, it really needs to end now. I am hopeful for the future though. xx
💚🤗

I'm certain this experience, however terrible it feels right now, is already promoting expansion in your mind and your heart and for that, I'm grateful. My perspective on death in general and suicide in particular is quite unique, so I don't share it often, but rest assured that even the most horrible ways to go can also lead to higher dimensions of existence. Perhaps one day the person who took their own life will communicate this to you at some level, so that you can find the closure you feel you need. Blessings!

mindfullife2.png

You've been curated by @drrune for Natural Medicine's curation project aimed at supporting a spiritual life, including gratitude and kindness practices, yoga & all kinds of meditation, shadow work and living a life of meaning.
CommunityIIDiscord

Thank you @drrune for including my post in the curation. It is interesting that you say this because I have been trying to understand the acceptance of death and knowing that our energy moves on to another realm in the universe. The bit I struggle with is the sadness I feel for those who lose a loved one. The sadness in their hearts.

Thank you for your words of wisdom and kindness,
Much love
🤗💚🙏

 3 years ago  

These are certainly strained times we are living under, and a wave of global selfishness has caused many suffering mental problems from the stresses of the current global situation to be overlooked. What a terrible situation, and it reminds me of why my family and I miss the social living of Cambodia, where the whole village is looking out for each other, but not in a quasi-sincere hipster way.

My mind starts churning in situations like this just like you.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io