Why Old Sayings Really Should Be Heeded, Hedgerow Medicine Abundance

in Natural Medicine3 years ago (edited)

20210419_224816.jpg

The sun has been shining for the most part since spring sprang up in the UK a few weeks ago. But there is an old saying that really holds true...

Beware The Blackthorn Winter

Each day I pass by a beautiful wild hedgerow that fronts some scrubland. It is known as The Hangings, a disused area that used to be the old railway between Harwich and the neighboring village, Wrabness. Wildlife is abundant there and I am thankful to be able to explore this beauty each day. Watching it cycle around with each season that passes. It makes the walk to and from school all that more enjoyable.

At present, there is an abundance of Blackthorn flowers exploding from all areas of each plant. They seem to be dominating the landscape, even more so than the amazingly ferocious-looking nettles that sit humbly below reaching up to their blackthorn queen in all her glory.

There is a reason that old sayings like this one exist. They come from years of observations by people that were way more connected to nature than recent generations.

Blackthorn and Hawthorn are both visually very similar. Thorny branches, white flowers of similar shape. The key difference is that the Blackthorn flowers first, in early spring, and the Hawthorn flowers come through from mid-May after the leaves have grown. Hawthorn flowers also have a slight pink tone to them compared to the blackthorn with its white petals and yellow centers.

Their fruit is very different. Hawthorn berries are a deep red and are very tart to taste. A sloe berry from the blackthorn looks like a large blueberry. I am pretty sure that, unlike their sweet edible doppelganger, they should not be eaten directly from the plant as they can cause stomach upset.

image.png

Sloe Down...

The blackthorn is full of medicinal goodness. Its flowers and berries are used for a number of complaints. Although I can't say whether adding them to gin is good as I don't drink alcohol, it seems to be a customary English thing to do going back years and I'm guessing the infusion allows the medicinal qualities to work their magic in the alcohol.

The flowers are often dried and used to treat coughs, colds, and to relieve water retention. The flower can also be applied directly to the skin to help treat skin rashes and act as a blood purifier.

The berries, or Sloes can be used as a diuretic, turned into a mouth rinse to treat sore throats and ulcers. Most interestingly, sloe jam is used to treat an upset stomach.

I hadn't really given much thought to the medicinal qualities of Blackthorn, perhaps I should forage some and search a few recipes to try.

Nature is our best long-range weather forecast.

This time last year we seemed to skip spring temperatures and went into early summer. But with the noticeable chill and last week's snow flurries, hail, and then warm sunny bursts I was very much reminded of this ancient saying.

This is extremely good to know when growing vegetables and fruits as certain plants won't survive a couple of cold nights. It is for this reason I am paying attention. I want to give my tiny garden a good chance of success this year.

According to the old saying, if the blackthorn flowers are abundant and last a long time, then spring will be pretty cold right up until May when the Hawthorn flowers come in and the Blackthorns have faded away. The visual white of the flowers is said to reflect or mirror what is happening on the ground. Aka hard frost or a light dusting of snow.

Which has been exactly the case this year. Even now, there is a distinct chill in the air. Although it is feeling warmer under the sun. The results of evaporative cooling from river and sea temperature rising have been highly noticeable and I am still not quite ready to commit to lighter clothing and footwear.



holisticmom.jpg

***


CommunityIIDiscord

***

abundance-tribe2.gif

***

ecoTrain_logo_main.png

Sort:  

Hi @holisticmom,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Aww nice, thank you so much. I greatly appreciate your support. 🌸💚🙏

 3 years ago  

Goodness, what a name - The Hangings! I wonder what happened there!

Jamie always used to eat the sloes as a purge. Interesting that sloe jam is good for stomach upset!!! Funny how plants can work in contradictory ways. They refuse to be boxed.

I adore the blackthorn - there was a super old one by me when I lived on a farm for a bit in Somerset in our truck. I was lonely and Jamie was out walking every day, and I was feeling very vulnerable in my heart. I was making ogham sticks out of the wood of the trees I communed with - I only ever made 13, but blackthorn was one, and I had super powerful communion with that tree, I tell you. There's really something special about them and an interesting energy to work with.

Thankyou for these glimpses of my England that I miss with all my heart.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

OOh gosh, yeah I hadn't thought of it like that. Maybe it was used in the war as a hangar area for planes? Who knows. I'll do some digging.
@audiohive-me, @queenoftheworld, or @thecryptidcrone might know?

I thought that too, as the fruit does the opposite if eaten fresh. I think blackthorn is one of those that can adapt depending on the dosage? I need to do more research and learn more. This is why I love nature so much. Something so common and you realize you know very little about it.

Yes, there is something quite bewitching about Blackthorn. Making ogham sticks sounds fun. I need to get in touch with my Celtic roots really. Most of my family are Irish, I've always felt this calling inside my but a little sad as on the surface I feel so detached from my ancestry. It's deep in there somewhere though...

I try my best to make you feel at home from home with my posts.

Love you xxx

 3 years ago  

How nice to have these places in your city, it's nice to have the life of those who live close to nature and rural areas. In my city also many green places, I plan to make a tour to take pictures with my phone and publish them. Because you have to take advantage, you have to breathe, stop for a moment and breathe while you contemplate the landscape. Nice pictures, I loved them.

Yes, I am feeling pretty blessed as one of my fears with moving back to the UK was not being able to immerse myself in nature. I am so grateful that these beautiful places are right on my doorstep.

I look forward to seeing your photos of the beautiful green spaces too xx

Thank you @pavanjr for your lovely comment. 🙏💚

what beautiful information , I have noticed the blacktorn flower on my way to work every morning, they give the A120 a look of a magical highway. it also occured to me the old saying was ringing true regarding the weather. thankyou for puting that into words


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

You're most welcome Jim. Yes, that stretch of road looks awesome.

Thank you for stopping by on my post and look forward to catching up with you and Ruth soon. xx 🙏💚🌸

 3 years ago  

Well, I guess be berry berry careful when trying to be sure what berries you're pickin'.


@NaturalMedicine supports wellness of body, mind, soul and earth on HIVE.
Come say hi via Lotus Chat or drop by our Hive Community - we'd love to have you!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io