My 4 Incredible Benefits on First Time 48 Hour Water Only Fasting

I come from a religious family(Christian) and most folks fast during the lent period to mimic the 40 days of fasting that Jesus did!

The fasting most folks do is always due to religious reasons, here where I come from I have heard and read stories of people who fast so that God can help them in certain endeavours.

People fast so that God can help them solve some problems like school fees, rent and the like.

I am not sure about the correlation of religious fasting to these solving of problems, you just have to be aware that coincidently most of these people who fast have their problems solved, the way it happens I do not know and I do not want to into that discussion now!

I have also read countless stories of people who talk of the health benefits of fasting. I once read that working out while fasting helps build muscle in the gym!

I know you have also heard countless fasting success stories, these are either religious fasting or health fasting.

fasting.jpg

Source

So three weeks ago I also wanted to be one of these success stories, but the only way of being one is by actively participating and experiencing it first hand!

I am someone who likes trying out new shit, and that is how I discovered Hive too btw haha.

It so happens that prior to my first time fasting, I developed a condition that took me on a research spree on how I can overcome it, you will know of this condition in the later stages of this post.

I just remembered that I have not yet defined what fasting is so that we follow along. It has to be remembered that there is a very big difference between fasting and starvation!

It is a conscious decision to refrain from eating or just skipping particular meals like breakfast or dinner.

On the other hand, starvation means the forced refrainment from eating because of lack of food!

So fasting and starvation should not be confused to mean the same thing, one is voluntary and the other is forced!

fasting.png

In this post, I will be talking about the 4 incredible benefits of my first time fasting.
It has to be noted that there are many benefits of fasting, but for me, I will only talk about my own personal experience and some might not even fall among the generally known benefits!

The most common benefits are, help in weight loss, promoted longevity, improves the immune system, helps in detoxification, improves insulin sensitivity.

4 Incredible Benefits of Fasting

It is now time for me to tell you the benefits I reaped from my first time fasting. I fasted for 48hrs while drinking only water!!

Yes, you read that right, I fasted for 48hours without eating any food but was only drinking water.
Most of my friends told me that I am mad for trying such a feat as I am a slender(or thin) person!

I know I risked going for this 48 hr fast as I would have gone for the simpler ones like one mead a day or just skipped breakfast as I advanced.

1. Changed My Mindset on Food

I know this might not be a generally accepted benefit of fasting, but to me it is, let me explain.

In one of the paragraphs above, I stated that I am slender/thin or whatever word that suits, you can check my previous posts to see my size!

Since I am slender, I have always been a slave(kinda) to food as I have that unending desire to gain some weight!!

If I can tell you that I have been in the same weight range for close to a decade, you will not believe it!

I have always loved eating(or even overeating) with the hope that I can game some slight weight hahaha.

food.jfif
The type of food eat here

I have always been so worried if I miss meals, I have always had that pressure that I have to eat breakfast, lunch and supper!

You cannot believe the relief of being able to only survive on water for a fucking 48 hours!
I can now confidently tell you that food is no longer among the most important things to me haha.

I am happy because I have one less thing to worry about and it was because of my first time fasting..

I have been fasting weekly ever since that first time and tomorrow is the third week I am actively involved in fasting.

Btw I discovered fasting through a gentleman on Twitter by the name of Amerix where teaches the benefits of fasting and encourages everyone to fast from Wednesday 19:00 EAT until Friday 19:00 EAT.

So tomorrow is my third week and I am enjoying it.

2. Love For Water

We have all heard the old adage that

water is Life

We are told that we should drink 2-3 litres of water daily for optimal health. We have all read the immerse benefits of drinking lots of water.

I can assure you that before fasting I was among those people who did not like drinking water, I could just force myself on some occasions after realizing that I have taken long without or when feeling thirsty!

Fasting altered my mindset on water, I guess because I drunk it for two consecutive days hehehe.

I can not believe that I now love the taste of water and I drink it all the time!

Previously I think in a week I would take 2-3 litres, but now that is what I drink in one day, as in one day.

It is obvious that when you drink lots of water, it always puts you in an upbeat and jolly mood(not that I wasn't jolly before haha).

I think I will reap the insane benefits of water in a month's time as my body gets used to it.

I am really happy that I now love water and I can also confirm to the old adage that water is life haha.

3. Healed/Reduced My Ulcers!

In the introduction, I remember saying that a certain condition made me start doing research so that I could overcome it, that condition is/was ulcers.

I am someone who always does not rush to swallow Big Pharma pills, I always look for home remedies and solutions.

It had been almost two months whereby I had a stomach disorder or upset. I used to feel some type of way.

I tried rewinding the tapes(jog my memory ) to discover what might have caused this and I discovered the probable cause.

I am a person who does not love fatty or fried foods and it might even be the reason I am skinny hahaha.

I have to admit that I did not do a medical check-up of my stool or urine to determine that I was suffering from ulcers!

I did do some personal reading and also asked around and the condition I was suffering from was most likely ulcers, it was just starting or at the early stages.

It has to be noted that I have not swallowed conventional medicine in a decade or so!
After discovering that I could be probably suffering from ulcers, I embarked on what I always do best, research.

My research gave me several home remedies which I tried until I saw another post by Amerix whereby he boldly said that

If you are suffering from ulcers, start fasting today, you will heal in no time!

I know you are as confused as I was the first time I read that statement above because it goes against what we have been told from time immemorial about ulcers.

Btw I had forgotten to tell you that Amerix is a certified
medical reproductive health.

I will get the time and talk to him and see how he can start posting some of his free content here.

So Amerix explained in detail in his Telegram group why fasting is good for ulcers and he also talked about the misconception that if you are suffering from ulcers you need to eat all the time!

I liked how he stated that fasting gives your stomach walls time to regenerate and also allows the gall bladder to heal and begin releasing bile salts.

He also explained how fasting is like giving your body a vacation !!

So I am here to report that I have never felt that dull stomach(ulcers) pain ever since I began fasting, either it is a coincidence or because of fasting I do not know.

I am all saying that fasting has helped me heal my ulcer which was probably caused by Helicobacter pylori bacteria, you can read more about this bacteria online.

4. Improved Concentration

This is something you can't quantify, but you can feel it as a person.
I have to admit that ever since I fasted, I seem more organized and more alert.

In one of the benefits of fasting, it says that it does help in improving brain function.
As I said earlier, this is something I cannot quantify like I did with water above hahaha, but there is some type of way I am feeling these days.

It has to be noted that fasting for 48hours puts the body is something called Autophagy!

What is Autophargy

Autophagy is the body’s way of cleaning out damaged cells, in order to regenerate newer, healthier cells, according to Priya Khorana, PhD, in nutrition education from Columbia University.

“Auto” means self and “phagy” means eat. So the literal meaning of autophagy is “self-eating.”

It’s also referred to as “self-devouring.” While that may sound like something you never want to happen to your body, it’s actually beneficial to your overall health.
Source

So basically during these last 36-48hrs of fasting, the body cleans /removes dead cells and regenerate new cells.

So basically it seems some of my old brain cells were removed and new ones were created hence my high concentration hehe.

So basically those are the 4 incredible benefits from my first time fasting.
I now love water, broke away from over desiring food, healed my ulcers and I am now a top-notch individual.

I know you might be tempted to also try fasting, but it is not for everyone, you must first consult your physician(which I did not because I do not have one).

Fasting is not recommended for pregnant and breastfeeding mothers because obviously, they need food to provide nutrients for the baby.

If you are also underweight, do not fast, and if you have serious medical conditions like diabetes first consult with your doctor.

As I conclude, have you ever fasted and what was your first-time experience? Tell us in the comments below.

Love
Jarau Moses

Sort:  

It's great to read about personal experiences when it comes to these things, rather than reading a generic list of the benefits. How wonderful that you have begun to find some relief from your ulcers. I guess that giving your stomach that rest and flushing out with water would play a big part here, giving your digestive system a chance to heal.


1.png

You've received a HIVE upvote & Lotus tokens from the team at @naturalmedicine! We encourage and reward content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. Come join us in in our new LOTUS CHAT - anyone can join, even without a HIVE account! Get one with our free referral and start earning HIVE and LOTUS! Follow @naturalmedicine, @lotusshares and @uplotus for challenges, newsletters, curations compilations, editorials and more!
NaturalMedicine.io II Delegate II Community II Discord II Curation Trail II LotusChat
divider.fw.png
Love, @minismallholding 💚

It's true by me practically participating in fasting, I reaped personal benefits than just the generic ones.

My ulcer seems completely healed and I also guess the much water I am drinking of late is helping me in detoxifying my body.

I am in another fasting period as I write this, thanks for voting and commenting on my post

Hahaha I remember you telling me about this. Congrats on succeeding, you're a much a stronger man than me. 😂

I once read that working out while fasting helps build muscle in the gym!

I think you're more likely to faint while exercising. lol

About the watet part, my love for water has probably always been my healthiest habit. I love drinking water so much it's not normal, if the water is cold I'm going for seconds, and if I happen to have exercised then.... You're in trouble if I'm at your house.

I didn't know about the ulcers though. I'm glad you're no longer have those issues and hope they never come back.

I think you're more likely to faint while exercising. lol

This has actually made me chuckle hahaha, why would I faint in the first place haha

As a matter of fact, I really hated water and maybe now I might gain some weight since they say 60% of our body weight is water hahaha.

You need to try put fasting too and tell us your experience.

why would I faint in the first place haha

Dude exercising on a completely empty stomach.

I might gain some weight since they say 60% of our body weight is water hahaha.

😂 I doubt that's how it works, you still need to eat to gain weight unless you have an underlying medical condition.
And as for fasting maybe I'll try one in the far future and even then for 24 hours at most. I'm getting dizzy just thinking about it. 😵😂

🤣I doubt that's how it works, you still need to eat to gain weight unless you have an underlying medical condition.

I thought you are my friend,so you should give me hope hahaha.

You are saying you will try fasting in the far future, seems like years from now.

Anyway take your time bro.

🤣🤣 I thought you are my friend,so you should give me hope hahaha.

Well as your friend let me give you some hope then. As someone who used to eat as much he wanted without ever gaining weight. As you age your metabolism will slow down and then you won't have any problem gaining weight. You'll probably end up missing the high metabolism though. lol

You are saying you will try fasting in the far future, seems like years from now.

Not that far, lets say before the year ends. I really love eating. hehehe

What courage! I can't imagine fasting even for 24 hours, the truth is that it has been my will. But if it has brought you a spiritual benefit, well done for what you have done.
By @hojaraskita

I am sure you can fast for even the 48 hours hehe, I also thought I would die until I tried it .

We can always fast as long as we set our minds to it, take time and try out first with 24 hours .

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more