My personal experience with mental health

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

The way I feel, think and act is due to my mental well-being.


IMG_20201019_012257.jpg

Having mental health for me has been a whole battle with a dark side of me, with a deep sadness that is not completely gone but I am not letting it defeat me.

In the past it was much worse, I would spend long periods without leaving home and without talking to anyone and I clearly remember that I wanted to stop being afraid at one point and took the courage to make an appointment with a psychologist, on the day of the appointment when I arrived at the office they told me that the psychologist was not going to be able to come and it was very sad for me and I thought that maybe I should not open up, I was only giving that one opportunity and it did not happen, at present I am still unable to attend one but I am considering in a very serious way to make an appointment, I think it's okay, I'm another person, that is, my thoughts about it are different.

I still have days where I am sad but I can assure you that it is not like in the past, this sadness has meaning, the previous ones did not have one, it was as if I just wanted to be sad all day, I just wanted to eat and see something, to lie down .

I do have to say that I did searches on the internet to find out what this was and I wanted to read other people's experiences and because of this I set personal goals that I was fulfilling.

  • I began to allow people to approach me, let them talk to me and began to respond with the same kindness.

In the past I was not interested and when people spoke to me I just said: ah okay! So that they will stop talking to me.

  • I started going out with friends, to eat, movies, bowling, the odd party, I'm not a party person but I agreed to some because I really wanted to change and improve, so I tried to try new things to see if it was going to give any results.

As a result of this I realized that friends also help you heal your soul and more if they are always supporting you or letting you know that they support you.

  • I started to change I started to finally say good things about myself because I thought I was horrible and I had no self-esteem and I was gaining confidence in myself

One of the things that helped me with this were self-help books and there were phrases like: What you say or think about yourself is what people will perceive about you. If you say you are horrible, people will start to see you as a horrible person ... And thanks to these little things I started to build positive and pleasant thoughts about myself. And the phrase is totally true, people perceive you for what you say about yourself.

  • My mom, improve the relationship with her. Suddenly I began to tell her everything that happened in my life and that made me happy and feel strong

  • Going out to hike and that stayed with me is one of the activities that I do regularly, being in a natural environment makes me feel peaceful and positive, my thoughts and my vibes change completely and make me feel that this is the real me and that's where i belong

  • Doing a bit extreme activities. Climbing, Zip line, hanging over suspension bridges, are some other things I'm not remembering.

Setting personal goals was the first step to change my way of thinking and get out of the constant zone of sadness in which I was, currently there are days when I feel sad but for specific situations in which I find myself living.

And well this was a bit of my experience and the things that I have been able to do to improve.

Sort:  

I think we all have days where our mind gets the best of us, we don't take the time to truly understand whats going on in our head and how the impulses around it affect the way it works. We're so busy chasing stuff and people that we forget to work on ourselves, mental health in a world where brain power is a big factor to your quality of life puts a lot of pressure on us to be sharp mentally

@steemityourway would be able to give you loads of advice shes an expert on the topic

Society puts a lot of pressure in people to fit in! And I'm done with that!!! I don't want to be part of such a disgusting society that doesn't make us feel good with ourselves ! But in the other hand if a can bring light to someone that would be good at least something I can do

This book may help you see things clearer.

I will give it a look!

 4 years ago  

Wow, what a lovely post. I love your cover image. Your techniques are really good and to be honest I think the way you have taken control and done some positive things to change things almost better than a psychologist. I mean, some poeple need them and that's 100 percent okay too, but I never found talking helped - ACTION did though, like exercise or positive self talk. Thanks so much for writing on this topic - we'd love to see more posts to qualify you for the badge as this one is great!

Actually my starting on this platform... 2018 I did a video but in Spanish talking about how was my life before with all negative and how I did something to change that!! Because it was quite a change!!!! A lot! And I just wanted to people feel inspired by that

I had previously known some of those sensations that you mention. But not in the same way as for about 2 years, of being plunged into a dark sea of ​​negativity. But most of all for 1 year. You feel that everything goes wrong and you only see the days go by one after another with nothing beyond. You see everything with the darkest shades that may exist. You feel lonely, you don't want to go out or do anything. You stop living to just breathe. I also struggle with my inner self to no longer be like this, the self-help books also influenced me in a positive way, while being constant in Hive has also helped me a lot. Currently, I still partly continue to fight to have good mental health and stop all those destructive thoughts doing the aforementioned, which has made me build some new habits and stop some bad ones, helping myself and helping other people, removing toxic people from my life, doing different and new things and setting goals, among other things. So I think we will continue with this fight for now! Good Vibes!

Setting goals and develop new habits it's indeed something good!

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @drrune.

Wonderful post! I particularly love what you say about communicating more with your mom! It's absolutely key to improve our communication with those we care about. Blessings!

Did you know it's World Mental Health Month? Or that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and rebogs.

Omg thank you! Definitely communicating with my mom was the best thing that I could ever do!

Love your tips :) I am going through what you've been growing though. And well... this song always reminds me of goals....

Rather be tied up with calls and not strings ;)

Whoever said money can't solve your problem,
must not have enough money to solve em :D

I have no idea!! We can't never knows what other ppl is going through! We need to keep going and improve for sure

 4 years ago  

Te felicito por tu fortaleza, por tu valor al tratar de superar a la depresión, porque obviamente has estado deprimida. Sigue luchando y verás que algún día te liberarás de ese lastre tan pesado. Abrazos y bendiciones.


I congratulate you on your strength, on your courage in trying to overcome depression, because you have obviously been depressed. Keep fighting and you will see that one day you will free yourself from that heavy burden. Hugs and blessings.

Me agrada que a pesar de que hice el post en inglés me hayas comentado en español, sí, yo también he llegado a creer que es depresión por los constantes sentimientos de tristeza sin explicación alguna pero nunca quise auto diagnosticarme, sólo me trazo metas que me ayuden a mejorar y sentirme muy bien

 4 years ago  

Gracias por apreciar mi respuesta en Castellano, es que a mí me gusta tanto mi idioma, que no puedo dejar de usarlo así sea un post en Inglés o en otro idioma. Por lo que leo, tienes una gran fuerza de voluntad, y eso es un activo invaluable a tu favor, no obstante es necesario que recurras a atención médica especializada, quizás en poco tiempo y con el tratamiento y terapia adecuados puedas sanar totalmente. Trata de buscar en otras redes sociales (porque aquí creo que no está), a la Federación de Psicólogos de Venezuela. Ellos tienen una línea de atención gratuita que funciona casi todos los días; y de ser necesario, haz lo posible en acudir a un psiquiatra, ya que los psicólogos tienen prohibido medicar. Espero de todo corazón sanes totalmente.


Thank you for appreciating my response in Spanish, it is that I like my language so much that I cannot stop using it, whether it be a post in English or in another language. From what I read, you have great willpower, and that is an invaluable asset in your favor, however it is necessary that you resort to specialized medical care, perhaps in a short time and with the appropriate treatment and therapy you can heal completely. Try looking in other social networks (because I think it is not here), to the Federation of Psychologists of Venezuela. They have a toll-free hotline that works almost every day; and if necessary, do your best to go to a psychiatrist, since psychologists are prohibited from medicating. I hope with all my heart you are fully healed.

Oye esta información no me la sabía, sí los buscaré, porque me veo tentada en la necesidad de saber qué es.