You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Suriname Is Not User-Friendly | Tired of the Western Mentality

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

That very last part line struck a chord with me.

It's almost like you're stuck between two worlds in a second world country and they're losing the best bits from both third and first worlds.

Perhaps you are correct, this country has its eyes on so-called modernity, but it has chosen to only take the worst parts like inefficient transportation, air-con, and food desserts. On the other hand, there is no interest anymore in someone trying to hustle a living from home by plying their crafts in the neighborhood. It's a lose-lose I guess you could say, but the lack of much human-to-human interaction on a daily basis is the most depressing.

I'm a bit of an introvert, but I miss my daily 3 and 4 minute conversations with the dozens and dozens of people I would interact with to get daily necessities. Here the social living has been replaced by fences, windows, doors, and other physical barriers to human socialization. !ENGAGE 140


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

I miss my daily 3 and 4 minute conversations with the dozens and dozens of people I would interact with to get daily necessities.

I hear you. I'm also an introvert, but when we first came to Australia my girls were in the school system, hubby was working and I was struggling with home sickness. I would walk down to the shopping centre just for some human interaction, then later started helping at the school.