You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preserving the Season {Dehydrated Zucchini Chips}

in Natural Medicine4 years ago

That's one machine I've always wanted but have never owned yet. I have so many ideas. We could do a bit of dehydration in Cambodia with a 3 day stretch of perfect weather, but you can't always count on that.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Oh I bet you could! Sun-drying is the original dehydrator, right? ;)

 4 years ago  

Yes and no, we've learned the hard way with chilies that direct sunglight bleaches them destroying the red color, although the taste is still fine.

With trial and error we learned certain things are best in hot dry shade or indirect sunlight, especially chilies. It's funny though because all the rage is about sun-dried tomatoes, no one ever touts shade dried tomatoes. I assume certain things are better for candidates for sun-drying, but I'm no expert.

 4 years ago  

Ahh, that does make sense. I didn't think about that aspect of it. I know the sun can damage some healthy compounds, so I would imagine there are some things that are better than others to dry in the sun versus the shade. Would be an interesting topic to research! Though not sure if I have the time at the moment, haha. Add it to my growing list for the future... ;)